VM Fusionware and dual monitors.....

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MatrixPrime, Aug 29, 2008.

  1. MatrixPrime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #1
    Hello everyone, I have a quick question for you VM Fusionware users out there. As I explained in another thread in the OS X forum, I am a web developer, and we are a Windows shop, but many of us are moving to Macs since we can run both OS X and Windows on the same machine. Well my work is purchasing a Macbook Pro for me, and I'll be hooking up an external monitor to it to replicate the dual monitor setup I have now.

    As I learned in the OS X forum, I'm able to specify which programs I would like to launch in which "Space" upon boot. My question is, is VM Fusionware compatible with a dual monitor setup? As an example, could Space "1" contain my OS X desktop on both monitors, and then if I switch over to Space "2" which has VM Fusionware running with Windows, will the windows desktop span both screens as well?
    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. MatrixPrime thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
  3. BobF4321 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #3
    Apparently VMWare Fusion 2.0 (currently in beta) has multiple monitor support.
     
  4. iTronz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Yes the beta version can span the windows desktop across two monitors, it can do the same with unity, you can move your windows apps around both monitors when unity mode is enabled.
     
  5. Kahalu'u Bob macrumors 6502a

    Kahalu'u Bob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #5
    I run Fusion with dual monitors. I keep Windows in the left monitor and OS X in the right. Fusion handles this very gracefully: Full Screen or Unity will take the whole left monitor very neatly.

    I have had less luck with Spaces, but that may be because I haven't figured out the best way to use it yet.

    Aloha,
    Bob
     
  6. Wadyman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #6
    VM Fusion Users

    i Would like a copy of that program cuz i just got my macbook and i have a software that only works with Windows. so if anyone would be so kind as of to send it to me. please!
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  8. jbcandkc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #8
    I am running Fusion (still on 1.x, haven't upgraded yet) on dual monitors on a MacPro. I have dual monitors for OSX and when I launch Fusion, the right window goes full screen XP Home. Works really well.

    jbcandkc
     
  9. rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #9
    VMware Fusion2 & Multiple Monitor Support (?).

    Vmware claim that Fusion2 supports multiple monitors.
    http://blogs.vmware.com/teamfusion/2008/05/more-displays-m.html

    But my experience is different.
    One monitor seems to function ok but...
    Have been trying to run three monitors on a new Mac Pro.
    And it is hideously slow and almost unusable, even out of Unity mode.
    Have sent in several Support Requests and await a resolution from VMware.
    Could this be an Windows XP3 (32) limitation issue perhaps?

    But at least they are trying. I understand that the
    Parallels latest version, does not support more than one monitor.
     
  10. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #10
     

Share This Page