VM size too big?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hehe299792458, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #1
    mine is currently at 42.98GB on startup. I have 4Gb of ram installed. Is that a bit too large?
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Not necessarily. It's no different than having a 60GB drive with 4GB of RAM.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Why do you think it is too large?

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. hehe299792458 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4
    This is on my umbp. on my mba, which only has 2Gb of ram, the vm size is only around 6-7Gb. I know that since the machines aren't identically configured, all comparisons are inaccurate, but the difference is quite dramatic
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    True, but the VM size is nothing more than the image file size.
     
  6. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    run the compressor, I bet you get some space back. It takes about 1hr though.
     

Share This Page