VMware 2.0 Beta now open

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by LoneWolf121188, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #1
    http://communities.vmware.com/community/beta/fusion

    Anyone want to give it a go and report back? :)

    [EDIT] Just read the release notes, and the Known Issues List is LOOOOOOOOOONG! Might want to avoid this one for the first few beta versions...
     
  2. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #2
    That has been out for around a month or so, IIRC. I've been using it since the initial release and so far I had a couple of major issues with it. The first was several unexplained hangs (with massive corruption to my drive image) but it seems they went away after I re-enabled the debugging checks. The only other problem I've had is several modules in the VMWare Tools package refusing to compile for the newer Linux kernels.
     
  3. Mark Morb macrumors regular

    Mark Morb

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk
    #3
    I had problems with the 2.0 Beta as well...Vista needed reactivating, then when I booted using Bootcamp I needed to reactivate again...then when using VMWare had to activate again!!
    Also Aero seems to have vanished and I cannot get it back even though I've totally uninstalled Fusion and now just use Bootcamp!!
     
  4. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    XianPalin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #4
    Yeah, it's been out a while.. I have vista 64 on boot camp on a separate drive... trying to boot it was an instant hard reset on the machine (happened every time). I immediately went back to the stable version after that.
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    the beta is extremely slow for me to use on my MacBook Air... not as slow as Parallels from my experience but too slow compared to 1.1.3
     
  6. jf8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #6
    I've been using this beta since it came out and it's been performing very well, excepting a few UI bugs (and excess CPU usage when running certain applications in Unity mode.)
     

Share This Page