VMware Beta 2 - Insanely Slow Performance!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by m021478, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. m021478 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #1
    I have VMware Beta 2 installed on my MacPro (2x3GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon 16GB 667MHz DDR2 RAM) with a brand new installation of Windows XP Pro SP2 installed, and I have yet to install a single application in my VM, but the performance of the virtual machine is so incredibly slow and sluggish that I almost can't bare using it anymore!

    When I say slow, I mean for example the mouse sometimes stutters when simply moving it across my screen, and clicking on a button like 'OK' or 'Save' pauses for a good 1-2 seconds before actually doing whatever it's supposed to...

    I currently have VMware configured to use 2 Processors and 2048MB of RAM. My primary Mac hard drive that I am running the virtual machine from has over 100GB of free space...

    What are some of the possible causes of such a tremendous performance slow-down such as the one I am experiencing, and how can I go about resolving the issue?

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    I use windows vista on it and I have no lags.
     
  3. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #3
    go to settings, then video, and check "3D acceleration"

    that should help speed things up quite a lot.
     
  4. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #4
    Do you have "Enable Debugging checks" checked in the preferences? That can slow it down a bit. If so, try unchecking it.

    Also selecting "Optimize for virtual machine disk performance" should also help.
     
  5. m021478 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #5
    Unfortunately, "3D acceleration" and "Optimize for virtual machine disk performance" were both checked, and "Enable Debugging checks" was not checked!!

    Go figure!

    Any other thoughts?
     
  6. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #6
    I'm pretty sure VMWare automatically does this, but make sure you have the VMWare tools installed, that makes a pretty big difference with things.

    If they are installed, maybe try uninstalling them and reinstalling and see if that does anything.
     

Share This Page