VMware converter speed and correct use?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Julien, May 29, 2008.

  1. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I have VMware converter running on my PC and it is taking forever? I have it set (I think and hope) to make a virtual copy of my PC on a USB HD. I then plan on moving this to my Mac Pro to use VMware Fusion. It has been running for about 3 hours and has about 75GB's out of 350GB's done? Does this sound correct?

    Also if and when it ever gets done what is the procedure for importing or moving to my Mac Pro (in Fusion I only see New (which opens a wizard for creating a new VM) and Open)? With the USB connected Open sounds like the way to go but how does it know to move (and where) the VM to my Mac Pro HD?

    Does it sound like I'm doing this correct?

    EDIT: It had been "stuck" on 26% saying 8 minuets left.:eek::eek: It has now moved to 42% and 3 hours 51 minutes left.:eek:

    EDIT 4:00PM: Now it is up to a measly 47% with 6 hours 23 minuets to go. Seems ironic that the more it does the longer it's going to take.:confused:
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    Converting 350 Gb is going to take a looooooong time. :( Prepare for an "all nighter".

    I've had limited success using the converter and from what I've read of others who used it - same. Hopefully your conversion will go well.

    Moving the converted file - Select "New" VM and open just as you stated. Browse to the USB drive and select the VM. I have no idea how long it will take to move and import a file that large. I've only converted 4 or 5 gigs worth and that took long enough. Make sure you have enough room on your Mac's HD to import that sucker. :p

    Regards.
     
  3. Julien thread starter macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    Thanks,

    Glad to see someone post who has run the VMware Converter. I guess most just install Windows in Fusion. I find VMware's web site confusing (geared to programs I believe) and not very consumer friendly. The program (VMware Converter is also confusing and I'm not totally confident I made all the correct chooses. It's at 63% and 5 hours 42 minutes left so it will likely be 18 to 24 hours from start to finish. Also the PC I'm using is a quad core with 4GB of ram so it couldn't run much faster.

    Actually it can't be New because that opens the Create a New VM Wizard. It will have to be the Open command to get to the USB HD. Once I open the VM on the USB VMware Fusion will automatically copy the file(s) to the Pro Mac before running Vista? I have never seen a VM before (except on video) so not 100% sure of how it starts or works.
     
  4. Julien thread starter macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    WOW: as soon as I posted my last thread I looked down and it went to 100%. I then plugged the USB into my Pro Mac and I have my Vista 64 bit PC (somewhat) running. :DSome drivers and startup programs didn't work but it connects to the internet and the main programs seem to work (though slower). It is working off the USB HD so I guess I must manually move the files to my Pro Mac.

    Now the $64,000 question I need help with. :eek: Not being very familiar with the OSX file system where should I put the folder? The folder (access) system is a lot more limited (or at least seems to be).
     
  5. Julien thread starter macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    TESTING

    I'm now posting from IE from Vista, strange. Hope I'm not messing up by using it on the USB HD and that just coping all the files over to my Pro Mac is all I have to do.

    The highest screen resolution is 1920x1440. It doesn't show 2560x1600 as a choice anymore.:confused:
     

Share This Page