VMware Fusion 2 - running win app w/o running WIN OS

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by moootah, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. moootah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    #1
    hey y'all,

    i'm going to switch really soon (waiting for SL to come out) but there are like two win apps i'll need to run on my mac and so i've decided to use vmware fusion for that. there's a feature i heard that allows you to run a windows app without the need of running WIN OS in the virtual machine...do i get this right, or am i missing something?

    and if i get it right, does it mean, that the app that runs without running windows runs in at native speed?

    thanks
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Fusion needs Windows to run Windows apps...what it can do is run the app "outside" the normal Fusion virtual machine window, so the app looks like it's on the Mac desktop. (Unity mode I think it's called)....but Windows is still there running in the background.
     
  3. kitty1920 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    #3
    Yep, what FHall said is correct. There are three modes when using VMF -- Full Screen (you can only "see" Windows), Normal (runs like any other app), and Unity Mode. Unity mode works basically the way FHall said it does.

    One thing I will add is if you are running Windows this way and you have less than 4 GB of ram, it can be VERY slow.. On my machine I had the ram split 2/2. It performed much better than when I had just 2 GB to split.

    (Sorry for my rambling - I've had a bit of experience running Windows and Linux this way).
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Or you can just allocate LESS ram to the virtual machine. I'm running a Vista VM with 512MB ram and a Ubuntu VM with 256MB ram on the MacBook Air.
     
  5. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Just to followup, there is an app that will allow you to run *some* windows applications without running Windows OS. It is called crossover, and works fairly well for some apps. Check their website for compatibility.
     

Share This Page