VMWare Fusion 6.0.3 doesn't work on 10.10

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jstahmann, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. jstahmann macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Just installed 10.10 upgrade on a test machine (rMBP) running Fusion 6.0.3. The Fusion icon is blocked out and when I try running it, a dialog pops up saying that "This version of Fusion 6.0.3 is not supported on this Operating System Version". Just a heads up...
     
  2. Quotenfrau macrumors 6502

    Quotenfrau

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #2
    thank you very much for the warning. I am on Vmware Fusion 5 and for me a killer application, because of running ubuntu
     
  3. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    FYI, the 10.10 now includes a new hypervisor framework. No idea what its scope is, but I assume it will offer some OS-based support for VM software.
     
  4. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #4
    Yeah, this is a bummer. Usually VMWare is pretty quick in offering beta/preview releases. Hopefully they will have one that works with 10.10 in a couple of weeks.
     
  5. pgeric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    #5
    The Hypervisor framework would most likely improve the performance of virtual machines due to more cohesion between the hypervisor and the guest.

    It won't be like Client Hyper-V performance on Win 8.1 though.
     
  6. Weavus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #6
    I imagine this and a lot of other "broken" apps just can't tell that 10.10 > 10.9, which is why you see that message. I bet they just have really stupid version checking code which is now broken and will be a simple fix in most cases.
     
  7. Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #7
    I can confirm it. Let's hope they'll update VMWare soon.
     
  8. prxr13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #8
    10.10 < 10.9, I mean it is simply a decimal, so it would actually be 10.1, which is less than 10.9 by 0.8. Y2K returns!!

    And now I am in the process of trying to figure out how to return to 10.9, so I can work my modelsim labs for school. >.<
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    No, 10.10 is not a number, its an identifier. It does no follow numeric/decimal conventions, i.e., we have 10.9.3 currently for Mavericks which is not a valid numeric value
     
  10. Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #10
    I'm tired of this. Version numbers are NOT decimals.
     
  11. Smith288 macrumors 65816

    Smith288

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #11
    Geebus H Cripes.... Learn versioning before spouting expertise on something.
     
  12. ohbrilliance macrumors 6502a

    ohbrilliance

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    The Java SDK installer also compares version numbers in this way. The installer effectively performs a string comparison of OS Version >= 10.7.3, and won't install when that check fails for OS Version=10.10. Fun.
     
  13. Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #13
    It's called bad programming, but hey it's Java. What do you expect?
     
  14. ohbrilliance macrumors 6502a

    ohbrilliance

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    It is indeed bad programming, but that's a pretty cheap dig. The installer isn't written in Java or part of the Java language.
     
  15. Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #15
    Yes, but I guess it's still written by the people that write Java.
     
  16. yaymath macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #16
    Is it possible to install 10.10 Yosemite is a virtual machine (e.g. Fusion) while running Mavericks?
     
  17. SlCKB0Y macrumors 68040

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    It's called a bug.... . And probably a very minor fix, get over it. :rolleyes:

    "Java sucks because it contains a bug which won't let me install it on my bug infested beta OS.... But only java sucks, the OS X bugs are good ones because they are a product of Apple."
     
  18. ohbrilliance macrumors 6502a

    ohbrilliance

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    I doubt very much that those coding the SDK would also code the installer. There's no way you would find such high school level bugs in the language itself.
     
  19. prxr13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #19
    Sorry...but sarcasm FTW!!! Just pointing out to others bad programming. That is where the problem lies.
     
  20. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #20
    They work already on v7.x.x and know that v6.x.x has some problems with OS X 10.10.
     
  21. Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #21
    But I hope they'll release an update for 6.x before the release 7.x and therefore won't force us to pay for an upgrade.
     
  22. daverdfw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #22
    I have installed as a VM in Fusion 6, its really laggy.
     
  23. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #23
  24. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #24
    Bummer, thanks for the heads up. Would hate to lose Fusion functionality. Still waiting to download, my internet at home is far too terrible to download a 5+ GB install file.
     
  25. levifig macrumors member

    levifig

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    Wondering if it'll support Intel's VT-d and hardware passthrough… :) #pipedream
     

Share This Page