VMware Fusion 6 & Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Crazy Badger, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. Crazy Badger macrumors 65816

    Crazy Badger

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Anyone else having a problem with this?

    I was using 5 and my Bootcamp partition without any problems, but when I've tried to upgrade to 6 I get the error message "If another virtual machine is using this disk, it must be powered off first"

    Thought I hadn't closed it down properly in 5 so booted into Bootcamp and shut down, but no joy.

    Reinstalled 5 and accessed Bootcamp without any problems, after initial set-up. Closed down, upgraded to 6 and the same problem :(

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    No problems here. I updated to VMware Fusion 6 and started up my boot camp partition. It updated the tools and that's it.
     
  3. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Same here - upgraded to VMWare 6 from 5 (which was working fine) and get the "If another virtual machine is using this disk, it must be powered off first" message when I try to use my BootCamp partition....

    Haven't gone back to 5 to try but from your experience it would appear to work....

    Anyone any ideas - cannot see anything similar on VMWare support.....

    Maybe it is a Scottish thing since I am in Scotland too !!!!
     
  4. Crazy Badger thread starter macrumors 65816

    Crazy Badger

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    I've attempted several times now, trying different things but can't set-up Bootcamp from the partition in v6.

    Rolling back to 5 is pretty straightforward, although takes about 30 minutes to get everything set-up correctly again.

    I'm getting the message below when I try to upgrade bootcamp, and then the "If another virtual machine is using this disk, it must be powered off first" when trying to recreate.

    [​IMG]

    I'll have to drop Alex (Salmond) a quick e-mail and see if he can put some pressure on VMware :D
     
  5. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    That is the same message I got when I first upgraded from 5 to 6....

    I trashed the Virtual Machines folder in my User>Application Support folder and like you it won't allow me to run the BootCamp partition from 6.

    I am using a DIY Fusion Drive on OSX 10.8.4 but VMWare 5 was fine and my BootCamp partition is on the HDD rather than the SSD part of the Fusion Drive.

    Would imagine emailing Alex will be a waste of time :D
     
  6. Crazy Badger thread starter macrumors 65816

    Crazy Badger

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    No Fusion Drive witchcraft here - just OSX running on a SSD and a partition on the HDD for Windows 7.

    Will have a further look on the VMware forums and stick with 5 for the minute.

    I'm guessing 6 will be more compatible with OSX9 so have a month or so to sort.

    I might suggest to Alex that VMware could be his solution to a devolved Scotland - that should spark his interest :D
     
  7. Crazy Badger thread starter macrumors 65816

    Crazy Badger

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    Solution!

    Turns out it doesn't like applications that let you read/write to your NTFS partition - in my case Tuxera NTFS. Disabled this, removed the old file from the users/application support/... folder and we're away.
     

Share This Page