VMware Fusion and Lion?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jjq224, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. jjq224 macrumors newbie

    jjq224

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #1
    Hey folks,

    Somewhat Mac newbie here (bought an iMac in March and a MacBook Pro in April). Still don't have a lot on my system - Aperture and VMWare Fusion are about the only two major software packages I've installed so far. I had to install Windows due to two pieces of software that just does not have a Mac counterpart :(.

    Here is my question. If I upgrade to Lion, will this adversely affect VMWare and my Boot Camp drive? I haven't seen this issue addressed anywhere and before I upgrade, I want to make absolutely sure I won't have any problems.

    I may upgrade the MacBook Pro tonight since that does not have a Windows partition, but I am really concerned about the iMac.

    Thanks for the help !
     
  2. skasol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #2
    It won't touch your bootcamp partition as long as you don't install on it.

    I have it working and it works perfect. Good luck.
     
  3. jjq224 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jjq224

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #3
    Thanks - will be giving it a go this weekend. :)
     
  4. revenent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #4
    Just update your VMware to the current latest version which is 3.1.3 will do.
     
  5. pavelbure macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #5
    Just for anyone who has version 2.???? if you reboot your machine and hold down the 3 and 2 keys lion will boot into 32 bit mode which will allow you to run those versions of vmware.
     

Share This Page