Vmware fusion and the dissapearing bootcamp partition

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by aiterum, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. aiterum macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I used bootcamp to install windows on my computer. I used XP with SP2 slipstreamed, and it loads up fine through bootcamp and pressing the alt/option button when I start up the computer.

    However, I tried installing Vmware fusion on my computer so that I can acccess my Boot camp partition from OSX. The installation went through and works fine blah blah blah.

    Anyways, when I loaded up Vmware fusion, it detected a bootcamp partition. Sweet deal right? Well, when I went to open up that parititon, VMWare came up trying to virtualize it, only after a few seconds of thinking, claiming that there was no bootable device.

    I thought this was odd, as I'm definietly sure that XP was installed on that boot camp partition. On a second try, I noticed that on my desktop, the second hard drive "untitled," that leads to my boot camp partition with XP on it dissapeared the moment that VMware tried to open it. Under the settings in vmware fusion, it claims that under the harddrive setting, the size of the volume is the size of my entire hdd, and not the size of my XP partition, and the label was that of my OSX partition, and not my bootcamp partition.

    Is there a way to make VMware specifically load that boot camp partition? Has anyone had any problems with something like this happening with VMware fusion, or virtulization? I would really like to be able to command my XP partition in OSX so that I don't have to constantly boot back and forth between them as much as I would otherwise
     
  2. aiterum thread starter macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    also

    I am using a 2.4 penryn MBP with 10.5.2.
    VMware fusion version 1.1
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    Not had any personal experience of the issue you mention but when you installed fusion did you install the tools also?
     
  4. aiterum thread starter macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    do you mean the thing that comes up when you start booting up the virtual machine? It wouldn't ever let me get that far.
     
  5. gclocati macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #5
    found solution

    I have this problem also and its seems like there are a bunch of others with it as well

    I'm no computer genius but i think these other guys are and they found the solution to this.
    http://communities.vmware.com/message/803666#803666

    The solution is typed out in 5 steps in the second to last post. There is one change made to the commands in the first two lines of the post below that
    I haven't tried it as of yet because I can't remember any of the unix commands to get around.

    I think what they are basically doing is creating a Virtual machine and then tricking the Fusion in thinking this Virtual machines location is the boot camp partition. Thus it knows where it is.
     

Share This Page