vmware fusion multiple computers?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jhu2, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. jhu2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #1
    can you install and run fusion on two macbooks using one key?
     
  2. zippster macrumors regular

    zippster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #2
    i was about to post the same question (and yes i have searched)

    ive been using parallels for months now and have no problems but i would like to retire my last pc in the house and use vmware fusion as and when i need it on both my MBP and IMAC.

    will this be possible? as i dont fancy buying 2 licences for the occasional use on both.

    ta
     
  3. RickT67 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    Yep.... I bought it last night and installed it on 2 iMacs.:D
     
  4. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You can, but it's likely to be against the terms of the license - probably worth reading the small print.
     
  5. zippster macrumors regular

    zippster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
  6. LintHart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #6
    hey guys sorry to dig up an old thread but i'd like to know
    if this can be done with the new Fusion 2

    Just yesterday my family and i bought 2 macbooks and a copy of fusion which is currently installed on one computer and i'd like to know if i can install it on mine also with it cracking the sh*ts and telling me i've installed it on too many computers

    can they both be updated?

    cheers

    Lint
     
  7. MAC-PRO-DEMON macrumors 6502a

    MAC-PRO-DEMON

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Up north in Yorkshire :)
    #7
    Well... I have it running on 3 of my machines... and no doubt.. I have forgotten to take it off my old ones!!!

    I still do... whenever I update it... I disconnect from the internet just to be on the safe side....

    I don't know why I do this.. because... I paid full price... and well... oh... maybe I am just like that!!!

    It is almost certainly against the terms of the Licensing (I can never spell that word :O)

    But... as long as you don't work for... say VMWARE... then you'll have no problems... but to be fair, if you worked for VMWare you wouldn't be asking about this in the first place LOL
     
  8. rich.smith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #8
    You can get Fusion for $19.99 from Macmall.com. They have version 1.1 for $29.99. You can get a $10 rebate (my check came in 3 weeks). The 1.1 version serial number works with the current version that you download from VMWare. I bought two copies (only one rebate per address though). It is worth it to get the legal copies that you need.
     
  9. rich.smith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #9
    You've got $20,000 in Apple hardware and you won't buy multiple copies of a $30 program?
     
  10. dabrace1984 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #10
    Sorry to dig this forum up yet again but I just wanted to refer anyone to the EULA for VMware Fusion 3.

    http://www.vmware.com/download/eula/fusion3.html

    Specifically wanted to point out section 9.1 (a):

    VMware grants you a nonexclusive, non-transferable license, without rights to sublicense, to install and use one copy of the Software on a single computer at a time without any geographical location restriction. You are prohibited from installing and using the Software on more than one computer at a time or make the Software available over a network where it could be accessed or used by multiple computers at the same time. You may make one copy of the Software in machine readable form for backup purposes only; provided that the backup copy includes all copyright or other proprietary notices contained on the original. If you have purchased multiple licenses of the Software, you may install and use the Software on a number of computers up to the maximum number of licenses purchase
     
  11. Heathy65 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #11
    Changes to Fusion EULA

    I've just been weighing-up Fusion vs Parallels, I'm currently a Fusion 3 licensed user but was considering Parallels for a 2nd Mac.

    Now Fusion 4 is out I need to have a play with that and check-out the new features to see if I stick with Fusion.

    Then I checked the licence agreement for Fusion 4 and it seems to have changed (for non-commercial use anyway), for the better too :)

    http://www.vmware.com/download/eula/fusion40.html

    Quite different to the Fusion 3 EULA here: http://www.vmware.com/download/eula/fusion3.html

    So I can u/g my Fusion 3 to 4 for a mere £33 and use it on both machines which is a good bit cheaper than buying Parallels at £65 per machine.
     

Share This Page