VMware Fusion question - copying virtual machine between 2 Macs

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by elgrecomac, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    I'm running the latest version of fusion on two different macs on the same network.

    I want to move a virtual machine from Mac A to Mac B but I am having issues copying from one mac to the other and I think I'm going to have issues running VM machine created on Mac A on Mac B once I do figure out how to transfer it over.

    Questions:
    1. Why am I having issues doing a network copy from Mac A to Mac B. both are on the same network?
    2. Once copied over, will I have issues running the VM on Mac B? If so, how do I overcome them?

    Thank you!:cool:
     
  2. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #2
    I've done this.

    Shut down windows on machine A. Turn off VM on A.

    Copy/Paste the VM folder (all contents) to B.

    Open on B, and select I copied the VM machine.

    Should work.
     
  3. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #3
    I copied once a VM with Vista Guest from Linux to Mac. Worked like a charm by just copy all files and start under Fusion. Is some years ago, don't remember the details anymore.

    In your case you need to make sure to adopt the network settings (network MAC address, IP addresses in case of static). And of course the name of the VM guest ( host name et ).

    In case you use Windows: once you copied it make sure to boot only one of both instances to avoid conflict. And check with your license situation. Changes in hardware like MAC addresses might force Windows to ask again for activation.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    On first opening the virtual machine on the 2nd computer, you will be prompted with two choices about the virtual machine: "I copied it" and "I moved it." If you choose "I moved it," Fusion will keep the existing identifiers and you generally will not be forced to reactivate Windows. If you choose the move option, it's critical that you do not use the virtual machine on the first computer simultaneously with the one on the second computer. If you do, you're likely to cause network issues.
     
  5. elgrecomac thread starter macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego

Share This Page