VMware Fusion Question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by BilboBaggins, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. BilboBaggins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #1
    The only way I can get my Xbox 360 to connect to Xbox live correctly (get an open NAT) is to use windows because when I use leopard's internet connection sharing my NAT is moderate. I dont want to reboot into windows everytime I play live. Is there any way I can use VMware Fusion to get my xbox online instead of rebooting and using bootcamp ?
     
  2. mrock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    How is your laptop connecting to the Internet? I'm guessing that since you're trying to connect your XBox through the laptop it's a connection that's directly plugged in (USB?)

    And then how is the XBox connecting to the laptop, ethernet?

    If so I guess one option is to have Windows (under Fusion) to take control of the ethernet connection (pretty sure this is possible but haven't got Fusion running at the moment) and then NAT the connection between Leopard and Windows, finishing the icing off by running ICS between that connection and the ethernet out to the XBox.

    Part of me wonders, would it not be easier to buy a cheapo router?
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    This guide worked for me with multiple XBOXs and multiple internet connections :)

    Having a moderate NAT doesn't really matter much...
     
  4. BilboBaggins thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #4
    Sorry, I didn't exactly know how to explain my problem. I want to share my macbook's wireless internet with my 360 by connecting the 360 to the ethernet on the macbook. I was able to get it to work with leopard's ICS but I would always get a Moderate NAT for Xbox Live. However, when I use ICS on XP (under bootcamp) my 360 has an open NAT for Xbox Live. I dont want to reboot my macbook everytime I play online. So I guess what I'm hoping to do is to get windows (under Fusion) to take control of the wireless connection so I can use XP to bridge my 360.
     
  5. mrock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #5
    In VMWare, set the network type to "bridged," then you can share that connection (it won't be a wireless connection, probably one of the VMWare ones) over ICS.
     

Share This Page