VMWare Fusion to see my Mac MAMP server?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SooTyLaD, May 22, 2008.

  1. SooTyLaD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    #1
    hi guys,

    i have VMWare fusion installed and running XP, and i have a MAMP development server on Leopard...

    i have the VM running as a seperate network entity (so it shows up in the network etc) but i would have thought that upon entering http://192.168.0.XX (IP of the mac), it would display the site that is being served, but it doesn't work at all...

    any idea how to get the virtual windows to see the mac server?
     
  2. MDTyKe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #2
    I had this problem too, but I figured it out. I just can're emmber how.


    But, in MAMP (I have Mamp Pro, but it should be the asme), there was an option under Apache/Server to "Run" under matt/matt (my username), or www/mysql as a different user. If I recall, changing this helped.

    Also there's the fact that its a 'virtual' thing, so it depends whether eg: how are they networked.. bridged? If its a bridge in VMWare, then it wont work, but you can check your network settings in the menubar, and adjust. Otherwise maybe you can look under the XP Control Panel>Network Connections and see what the 'router' address is.

    It does work though, as I use it to check websites I do under IE.


    Matt
     
  3. SooTyLaD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    #3
    i've had a play and i can't find that option in mamp and also my connection is bridged so that it can seemingly be a separate entity on the network...

    as far as i can see there is no logical reason at all why it cant be accessed from the lan ip address of the mac... it might be virtual but the whole idea of bridged is that it doesnt think it is...

    no?

    any help to get this sorted very much appreciated... i'm also using it to check IE, at the mo i'm uploading the website to an online server then checking from there... really screwy way of doing things...
     
  4. SooTyLaD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    #4
    for those who are interested, i have the solution:

    in your emulated windows, go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (no extension)...

    in this file you will see the line:

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    just add another line something like this:

    192.168.0.2 mamphost

    and it works :) - in IE navigate to http://mamphost:8888 and you'll see the mac hosted page...

    i have my VMWare network connection bridged by the way, so it is essentially a separate entity on the network...

    hope this helps some people :) great for checking cross browser compatibility ;)
     
  5. katiecs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #5
    ****SOLVED*** Similar problem, but with Tomcat server

    I am trying to connect to my host (Tomcat) server on my Mac, but always get the same message in IE- "IE cannot display the webpage". My system preferences says my Mac's IP is "192.168.0.65"
    Here are the lines I have tried:

    192.168.0.2 tomcathost
    192.168.0.65 tomcathost

    I have also tried using different ports in the address, but IE never changes- still get "IE cannot display the webpage". I know the firewalls are off on my Mac and on Windows, and I have tried changing the Qwest (my internet provider) firewall settings too, but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?? Thanks so much!!

    ******After messing with the stupid Qwest firewall, I actually got it to work!!! I had to add a "User-defined" application for VMware.******
     

Share This Page