VMWare Fusion unmounts servers on Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sanondson, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. sanondson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #1
    I just installed the newest version of VMWare Fusion running Windows XP Professional on my new Intel Mac (running Mac OS 10.4.1). I'm the only Mac in a PC environment, so I connect to Windows servers. Our techie people set my Mac up to mount the servers on my desktop using SMB. But now every time I connect to the same servers within Fusion in Windows XP, they unmount off my Macintosh desktop. Any idea why this is happening or how to fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nospamboz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #2
    I'm guessing it's a guest/host shared resource issue. A similar thing
    happens when you have, say, a CD mounted in MacOS, then start a
    VM which has the same CD drive connected. The disk icon on MacOS
    disappears. You can get back the CD by using the little icon at the
    bottom of the VM window to disconnect it from the VM, or doing it
    through the menu, or shutting down the VM.

    I can see why you would be surprised for it to happen to a network
    share, though. The two computers (host and VM) should be able to share
    the same third network share, shouldn't they?

    I wonder if it's a networking issue. If you're using the default NAT networking
    for your VM, then the host and VM would have the same user sharing the
    same resources at the same IP address, and maybe the server says "Huh?"
    and deletes the existing session. Maybe bridged networking will help?

    I tried looking for "SMB" on the Fusion forum at VMware:

    http://www.vmware.com/mac (click "Discussion Forum")

    I couldn't find anything quickly, but it might be worthwhile for you to
    ask the question there.
     
  3. nospamboz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #3
    Had a thought.

    When you mount your SMB shares in MacOS, do they show up
    under the "/Volumes" directory on your Mac drive?

    If so, you can probably use the Fusion shared folders facility to
    map those directories onto Windows. For example,
    "/Volumes/SMB_Share_1" could be mapped onto "Z:". That way,
    you wouldn't have to use Windows Networking at all.

    You may need to mess about with the drive mapping within
    Windows (via the ".host" network place in Explorer under
    "VMware Shared Folders") to get it to the drive letter you
    want.
     
  4. sanondson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #4
    Thanks -- I'll try looking there.
     
  5. sanondson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for your comment. It looks as if it may turn out to be an issue on the Windows server side and nothing to do with Fusion at all. The server is sometimes "kicking me off," or so the tech people tell me. They can't figure out how to fix it yet, though...
     
  6. thogen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #6
    Got the same problem here

    I'm using VM-Version 2.0. Same problem here. Connecting in Windows disconnects the Mac.
     

Share This Page