Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mbower71

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2010
Hi guys -

Hopefully this post isn't a duplicate of something that's already been discussed. I've read through (I think) all of the SSD posts and have found them to be very informative. I'm getting ready to possibly make the jump to SSD in my Mac Pro but am concerned about performance / durability on VMWare images.

I'm planning on using the SSD for only the OS, Lightroom library, and 1 VMWare image which is my primary work environment. The VM is Win 7 x64 with SQL Server and Visual Studio (I'm a windows software developer. Gotta pay the bills). The SQL Server is not a high volume server, it's just used for development, so not a ton of IO, but some during the day when I'm working.

But, since OSX will see the whole VM image as one large file with frequent changes to the contents of the file, will that be better for performance / durability, or worse? I don't mind re-formatting the drive once in a while to regain performance but I'm hesitant to get into a situation where I have to do it weekly, or even monthly.

Any thoughts from someone with this experience would be great.

And, as one final question - the price of the 200-250G drives is similar to getting 2 drives of half the size. Better to use software RAID 0 two small
ones together rather than one larger one? I'm putting this into a 2009 Pro with 8 x 2.26, 12G mem if that matters.

Thanks a bunch.

jedijoe

macrumors 6502
Oct 13, 2005
Boulder, CO
I ran VMWare Win7 x64 image on a Intel 160GB G2 SSD for over a year on my Macbook Pro. Now that I have a new Mac Pro, I put the images on the HDDs simply because I don't use them that often (mainly checking website rendering in IE).