VMWare on the new Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by fruitpunch36, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. fruitpunch36 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #1
    So, my base model unibody Mac Mini is coming in the mail soon and I just wanted to know if it's a good idea to get VMWare for it? I need to run a few office programs in it such as Visual Studio 2010, and Office 2010. I also want to use it for gaming, so I want to install Windows 7 through boot camp and then be able to use Windows 7 on VMWare with the same partition. Is this possible? If it is, how will the performance be in VMWare and will Aero be supported?
     
  2. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
  3. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #3
    I wouldn't use VM's for gaming, also Aero might be a bit sluggish on virtual PC's (if it runs?).

    VMware I know can boot off BootCamp - though not tried it with Windows 7
     
  4. SisterRay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Have you tried virtualbox. Its free and quite good
     
  5. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #5
    +1 for parallels. i've tried both (fusion 3 and parallels 5), and if it's performance you're looking for, go with parallels.
     
  6. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #6
    Hi,
    I have both Parallels & VMware installed as you can see, the Parallels is a little bit faster:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #7
    I tried Virtualbox (ehh like a year and half ago) and it had a ton of promise but issues . . . really need to look into trying it again . . .

    I would try the opensource and free alternatives before the paid version. Mostly because well . . . their free.

    -iGrant
     
  8. fruitpunch36 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #8
    Thanks to everyone! I had VMWare 2 lying around somewhere and I upgraded to 3 and it works really great! I just need to get an extra GB of memory or 2 and it will be perfect. It's a little slow at times, but I'm not using it for much anyway. I wasn't really looking to try parallels because I've heard of lots of stability issues. I would like to try VirtualBox, but can anyone confirm that I can use my Boot Camp partition in it? Also, is it any faster than VMWare?
     
  9. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #9
    Hi fruitpunch,
    I have the latest Parallels & VMware Fusion as you can see.
    I find the Parallels less buggy, actually.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #10
    Try going to the next version of Fusion. You are on 3.0 and 3.1 is out. I haven't found any bugs with 3.1 so far with 10 or so VMs loaded.
     

Share This Page