VMWare Unable to activate Shared Folder

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rhett7660, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #1
    Hello...

    I have several folders shared over to my windows XP. I am trying to add another one but it won't let me select it. I can see where the check mark is supposed to go but it won't let me put a check mark in it. Any suggestions?

    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Fusion 2.0
    Mac OS X 10.5.6

    I added a picture so you can see what I am referring to.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #2
    I have tried a few other solutions that I found on the net but nothing seems to be working. I can't find if there is a limit on the amount of shares one can have in vm either. Still open to any suggestions anyone here has.

    Thanks
     
  3. bassplayer13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #3
    Is it a parent/child folder on one you already have shared?
     
  4. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    Nope. It is just a folder on a single hard drive all by itself. Nothing else above it.
     
  5. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    FWIW, I tried to reproduce your problem yesterday and couldn't - I was able to create a set of shares named identically to yours. I also searched a bit on the VMWare knowledgebase and came up with nothing that seemed relevant. Have you tried removing the share and adding it back in? Restarting the VM and/or your Mac?

    edit: I'm running sp3 for XP, and 2.01 for Fusion.
     
  6. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #6
    Cliff...

    Yes I have done that a couple of times. Each time it does what the pictures shows. It is there but it will not let me select it. I went to the server the folder resides on which is also where the other folders are and they are all setup the same with the same permissions. I then went back to my Mac Pro and made sure they are setup the same with permissions etc. They are. I am at a loss as to why it won't let me click on it. Very strange.... Driving me nuts.
     

Share This Page