VMware warns users from installing 10.5.7 if using ATI graphics card!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hcpilot, May 14, 2009.

  1. hcpilot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #1
    VMware, makers of Fusion, has warned their users away from installing Mac OS X 10.5.7 if they have a Mac using an ATI graphics card or chip.

    Fusion enables Intel-based Macs to operate other operating systems like Windows and Linux without having to be rebooted first. The “virtualization” software is a popular alternative to Boot Camp and Parallels Desktop.

    The message, posted to the “Team Fusion” blog on the VMware Web site, states that Mac OS X 10.5.7, released Tuesday, will break the 3D graphics acceleration feature supported by Fusion — it enables gamers and others running 3D software to use their products in a Fusion virtualized environment.

    “You will likely see issues ranging from slow performance, to incorrect rendering, and even crashes, when you run your 3D applications in a Windows virtual machine on Mac OS X 10.5.7,” reads the blog.

    “Both Apple and ATI are aware of this problem and are working to correct it in a future software update. In the meantime, if you have an ATI graphics card in your Mac and need VMware Fusion’s 3D features to work, we recommend that you do not upgrade to Mac OS X 10.5.7,” the entry concludes
     
  2. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Tks

    Tks for the tidbit of info. It will save a lot of users headaches. ;)
     
  3. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

    jmccullough108

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    Virtual Box = Free & Open Source

    It's what I use, and works swell on 10.5.7
     
  4. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #4
    Hoping my Mac Pro arrives with 10.5.6 on it, then...
     
  5. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

    jmccullough108

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Probably will, I don't see a way for them to come out with disc's to ship with already.
     
  6. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #6
    Good point! They couldn't flash the HD with 10.5.7 without also offering it on the restore disc. Heard too much bad stuff about this latest update... doesn't seem like it'll help me at all.
     

Share This Page