VMware/Windows XP sp3/messenger live/iSight!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by billmister, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. billmister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #1
    hey guys quick question that i haven't been able to get the answer to. I just got VMware latest version2 and windows XP service pack 2 and updated to service pack 3.

    Well even though mac has EVERYTHING i need, there is nothing really i need from windows. I don't even like the idea of using it, BUT, there is a program i would like to use since it's only available for pc using web cam... that's MSN messenger.

    SO... I installed the virtual os and dowloaded msn messenger live. Well, then i go to "my computer" and see like a camcorder icon "my isight" and when i double click i see myself using my isight.

    When i go to messenger live and change profile pic, i can choose from their pics or click web cam, and then see my self. BUT!!!! when i try to do video conference, it says can not do it because devise is in use by other program. When i go to tools, camera and mic, i get a pop up that says can not set up these items or something like that.

    WTF?!?!?!?! The only thing i saw was in device manager under USB i see a yellow "?" and next to it, "built-in isight". I tried to download the drivers but it keeps saying wrong location when i use drivers downloaded from a zip drive online. When i try goign to leopard dvd and exploring it, i get to the isight drivers to install, but nothing happend.

    SO... i uninstalled msn messenger and used the old version that came with windows. Signed in, and when i click video cam it asked me to set it up. so i saw myself, i set up my mic, and all went well. BUT, everyone was logged off and i couldn't test it. I double clicked on a friend and when i click web cam i see grey where i'm supposed to apear.

    Any help would be GREATLY appriciated. If it doesn't get it to work, then it's useless to have vmware and windows on MY computer since that's the only use i would like to do.

    ichat i use and video works great, BUT in south america hotmail is popular and that is why i want to use it. thanks
     
  2. billmister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #3
    i think it maybe due to the fact that i installed it with vmware and instead i should boot camp it first. Then after boot camp i add it to vmware...BECAUSE because boot camp should install all the drivers.

    i mean the hardware work, but it seems that the yellow "?" under device manager means no drivers... I will try that today
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Get SKYPE. Much better all around. Works on OSX and the other os.

    Skype performs much better even on windows than messenger.
     
  4. billmister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    Even though i know that, i can't make 30+ people change to skype in south america because i need to communicate with them.

    What REALLY F@$##@ weird is, my friend installed vmware, and he installed the drivers found online, and when it said "new hardware found please select drivers" he selected the folder and BOOM, it installed...

    I do the SAME EXACT THING, and it does not let me install, i keep getting there is no drivers there to install.
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    Use the drivers disk that came with your system. (Disk 1 of the restore) and install the iSight drivers located in /Drivers/Apple
     
  6. billmister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #7
    Thank you for your answer. thats the thing i did that. I located the folder within apple, drivers, isight installation.

    I double clicked it and it bought to me installing hardware. Then it said isight from apple blah blah blah installed successfully. Then i close it and i see it in my add/remove programs.

    But under device manager, still, ?. I JUST DON'T GET IT. Ok i'm trying out parallels free version to see if it will do the same. In either case, my friend worked with his vmware. What i'm thinking, the only difference between me and him is, he has macbook and i have macbook pro, (but so does my other friend and he runs msn messenger with video fine with macbook pro), and two i have a guest user. Could that be the problem?..

    Like i have 2 users under my laptop, myself and a Guest
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    It installed the drivers into the system, however, the drivers aren't initiated into the hardware. Here, you have windows find the driver manually and have it "select from list". Here you will see "Apple iSight".

    It doens't matter if you used VMWare, Parallels or any other virtualization. Also, what machine doesn't matter. What software doesn't matter either. And guest users and different user accounts have no effect whatsoever.
     
  8. billmister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #9
    Problem FIXED!!!!!!

    Ok guys so thank you all for your help and comments i got it to work, here is what i did.

    1-ran disk permission and fixed all the permission errors.

    2-i ran boot camp. Partitioned the amount that i wanted (19gigs which gave me 200gig free for my mac since i have 320 gigs)

    3-Installed windows XP home on that boot camp by following the direction. When I got to the formatting screen (blue windows screen) i selected "format fat (quick)" Because when i selected "keep original version" and when i did that i got disk error when i rebooted.

    4-after installation i inserted my Mac Os original disks that came with my macbook pro and it prompted me to boot camp setup. Well i continued to the next screen and BOOM installing EVERY DRIVER. Including isight, speakers, graphics card, wireless card, etc....

    And there it is, all good. Here are word of advise. I will NOT be using my windows side for web browsing or really, anything but windows msn messenger, and maybe 1 other program.

    When i installed MSN messenger and did the audio and video setup it let me do it. BUT!!!! since VMware gives you free McAfee antivirus i installed it. Turns out, THAT stopped me from video chatting. I couldn't video chat anything i kept getting errors. SOooo, i figured that was the last thing i did before it stopped working so i removed it, and boom, i got it working.

    Once done i opened up VMWare and installed it on my mac (since i uninstalled it before) and after it being installed and opened, i saw my Boot Camp partition there. So i pressed the little symbol that means "play" and it did the rest for me. DON"T forget to restart the windows side after it installs the VMware software, also you will get a screen saying you have made changes to the Os and you need to re-register your copy of windows, in which you put in your Product ID in there, or call windows for support.

    Thanks and hope this helps some of you out there since i see many posts and no real solid answers.
     
  9. stinhambo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #10
    Why don't you just use http://www.microsoft.com/Mac/products/messenger/default.mspx which supports video on the Mac?
     
  10. billmister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #11
    you mean the corporate version?... Because i don't have a corporation, and it does not work if i use my personal hotmail email with the corporation setup. You are aware that there is no video with personal MSN messenger for mac yet?.. Only a beta version which is not reliable.
     

Share This Page