VNC from Windows Fixed?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by brettuk, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. brettuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Was wondering if anyone could test the following situation (which is broken in Lion).

    Connect to their Mountain Lion mac via VNC from a Windows computer.

    In Lion, you get stuck at the login screen unable to login to the computer, there's a bit thread about it here: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3190260?start=120&tstart=0

    Ridiculous it's not been fixed in a year! I want to get a Mac Mini to run as a HTPC, and really would like RDP like functionality to login remotely without affecting the connected screen. Unfortunately, I use windows at work, and I'd like the option of logging in.

    Thanks,
    Brett
     
  2. Asmod4n macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #2
    LogMeIn does a good job, never liked VNC, it is Garbage even over Gigabit Ethernet.
     
  3. brettuk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #3
    LogMeIn is okay, however it doesn't blank the screen or do multi user like Screen Sharing does.
     
  4. etsi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #4
    Logme in is not ok I do not want to use other server . Need direct access i dont trust logmein.
     
  5. dcorban macrumors 6502a

    dcorban

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #5
    This happens from any computer, not just Windows. It's been happening at my house since day one of installing Lion on my Mac Mini. This has been pretty much my only source of frustration with any Mac since switching from Windows six years ago.

    I can't believe it still isn't fixed in a Lion update. Does no one at Apple actually use Screen Sharing?

    I am hoping it is fixed in ML.
     
  6. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Just an FYI Logmein does have the option to blank the screen



     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
    from my testing:

    If you VNC to a Lion Mac when a user is logged in, you get the grey linen screen with no password prompt.


    If you VNC to a Mountain Lion Mac when a user is logged in, you get the grey linen screen with a password prompt. Enter the logged in user's password to view their desktop.
     
  8. brettuk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #8
    Yeah, you have the option. It just doesn't actually work when remotely controlling Macs...
     

Share This Page