VNC Mac + Windows Machines - A Question Please!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by neenja, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. neenja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi All,

    Straight to the point here is what I would like to be able to do (if possible):

    - I have a MBP that I bring to work with me on a regular basis.
    - I have a Sony Vaio + A Desktop both running Windows XP at my home office.

    Question: Is it possible to control my Windows machines at home with my MBP while at work (two different places) via VNC?

    A step by step explanation or any kind of help with what kind of software to get/use would be very nice!

    Thanks everyone :)
     
  2. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #2
    First, answer these questions:

    1. What version of XP do the machines have?

    2. Do you have windows running on your Mac? If so, what version is that?

    3. What tasks would you like to accomplish by remotely accessing your home office machines?
     
  3. neenja thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #3
    1- XP SP2
    2- Yes, using Parallels, XP SP2
    3- Simple ones really, executing programs such as my winTV to record shows etc.. executing downloads, that is about it. Nothing big like running heavy editing programs and such.
     
  4. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #4
    Is that XP Pro or Home?
     
  5. neenja thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #5
    xp pro
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
  7. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #7
  8. hennaheto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #8
    windows remote desktop while similar to VNC is very different depending on the outcome you want.
    remote desktop "locks" the remote screen
    it logs the current user off
    it starts up a new session and depending on the programs installed can start up new instances of services (very bad on servers)
    i use ultra vnc via my parallels on my mac for all of my vnc-ing
    if you use vnc or RDP you will need to know your machines IP which can change depending on your type of internet connection. Another alternative would be logmein.com
     

Share This Page