Vnc?!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LEVENDIZ, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. LEVENDIZ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi guys well i'm wondering... how can i connect to my mac at work from my mac at home?

    Is it possible to turn the "work" mac on and off
    And is it simple to set this up.
    After i do set up the VNC is it easy to connect whenever i have to?

    Thanks LEVENDIZ
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You can use TeamViewer but that requires that your work Mac is on and the TeamViewer app is running
     
  3. LEVENDIZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thanks and it free WoooHoo!
    Another suggestion would be nice though as a on/off feature would be cool.
     
  4. LEVENDIZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Hi i know this is a double post but. Is there a way i can connect without anyone being at the "work" computer?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Nobody has to be at the work computer but it must be on and TeamViewer must be running. You can't power on computer remotely. You can shut down/sleep the computer via TeamViewer but you can't turn it on
     
  6. LEVENDIZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    So how does it connect if it isn't already and nobodies there?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    When you set the TeamViewer up, it gives you an ID and password which are needed to connect to that specific computer. You write them down and then use them to connect from home to work. The ID is always the same but the password changes so everytime you quit TeamViewer, the password expires so when you launch TeamViewer, write down the password, otherwise you may not be able to connect. If you sleep your work computer and leave the TeamViewer running, the password won't change
     
  8. LEVENDIZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    OK, thanks mate.
     
  9. King Apple macrumors regular

    King Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #9
    Ya i do the same thing with teamviewer. Works great.
     

Share This Page