Carrier Vodafone UK - will only enable wi-fi calling if you buy the phone from them!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dealmaker, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. dealmaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #1
    So I always buy my iPhones from the Apple store. My new 6S works fine - but unfortunately the signal in my area is patchy and sometime I cant get signal (thanks Vodafone!) - so wi-fi calling would be a really useful feature.

    I called Vodafone to ask them to activate the wi-fi calling feature on my account (the phone wont enable it via the setting menu - asks you to call your carrier) - and after the usual pass around and long hold with Vodafone - I eventually got hold of someone - who basically told me that despite me having a £40 per month "Red" bundle - they wouldn't activate the wi-fi calling feature as I didn't buy the phone from Vodafone!!! ...and my only option would be to take out a new 24 month contract with phone from them! Errr....no thanks!! I did point out to them that the reason I wanted wi-fi calling was that their signal was poor....but as you'd expect that was met with the usual Vodafone indifference!

    So anyone thinking of buying a phone at the Apple store - consider using EE as your carrier as I think they give w-fi calling to all their bundled customers.
     
  2. Chatter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Uphill from Downtown
    #2
    So I am not in the UK (US - TMobile) but this sounds like total b.s. Not saying that is not their policy but just another way for them to tie you down. Sorry mate, maybe there is a way around it via JB but thats another pain.
     
  3. DynamicSausage macrumors 6502

    DynamicSausage

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    #3
    Call them and tell them that if they don't allow you to use it then you will take out a new 24 hour contract, a different network, they'll soon buckle. Also mention that if it was listed in the plan you have, you're entitled to it.

    One thing though... if you don't get great Vodafone signal at home why are you with them? Or is every network the same?
     
  4. dealmaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #4
    Yeah - poor signal with all the suppliers unfortunately- hence wi-fi would have been a benefit. I'm on SIM only so its not advertised as part of the bundle........and they seemed indifferent to me leaving to EE - so I don't think the threat will do much - it seems the bundles just simply don't allow it - and if there's not a tick box for them to check on their screens they are totally lost......
     
  5. Chatter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Uphill from Downtown
    #5
    BTW - have you tried call forwarding to a web only number from an app? The apps work on wifi so quality should be fine. The only thing to remember would be to enable/disable forwarding daily. This isnt a good solution at all but just something to think about.
     
  6. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #6
    So did you check with EE to see if you can get WiFi calling from them, if you did switch over with your new phone? The only way you can really make your point is to change. Not that it may make much of a difference...

    C
     
  7. DynamicSausage macrumors 6502

    DynamicSausage

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    #7
    Personally, I can't help but think that's just appalling and insulting; dreadful customer service. Far from the ideal solution but I'd go get yourself on EE, I don't have an issue with them and you'll get WiFi calling too.
     
  8. papashaun macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #8
    OP - without getting in to the rights/ wrongs of Voda not providing wi fi calling - but if you are stuck with Voda contract then you can buy a Voda sure signal gizmo from them( around £ 100 ). Plugs in to your broadband router and you set it up to work with your Voda mobile number ( and your wife's , family etc ) - provides a signal round the house which routes through your broadband via Voda's servers
    I stay in a small village in N East Scotland - can only get Voda signal at the house - no other carriers so pretty much tied to Voda - need phone for my business and not unknown for the local Voda mast to have issues in winter due to gales / snow etc. Their sure signal thingy works quite well so pretty much always have signal now - phone will automatically route call between mast or sure signal
    I know - not addressing the rights / wrongs - and is anther £100 toVoda - but if consistent signal is crucial to you then may be worth looking at
     
  9. d123 macrumors 68000

    d123

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    EE will allow any compatible iPhone to work on their WifiCalling, as long as you are on contract with them, it can be a sim only or handset contract (it's not offered to prepaid/PAYG yet).
     
  10. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #10
    T Mobile in the US told me that too. I am thinking of switching from Att to them and bought my phone with the apple upgrade program. Wonder what the real story is?!
     
  11. mrklaw, Oct 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    mrklaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #11
    That wasn't my experience. I bought my iPhone from the Apple Store earlier this week and then walked into the Vodafone store to convert my PAYG si into a contract (because they only do wifi calling on contract). Wasn't an issue at all.

    I pretty much chose to buy the iPhone because of vodafone's wifi calling. All networks have very limited signal at my house.
     
  12. mupet0000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    #12
    Voda is more expensive than EE, offers worse signal not just at home but around the whole country, and won't enable wifi calling, something that costs them nothing but helps customers out immensely due to their lack of signal.

    Reasons to stick with voda = 0
     
  13. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #13
    That's true. I buy my iPhones direct from Apple and I have a SIM only contract with EE and have Wi-Fi calling.
     
  14. Z3man macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    EE is definitely the best network in the UK nowadays, i was never happy with my supplier until i moved to EE, now i will never change from EE, I even buy locked phones now as i have no intention of moving suppliers. Everywhere i go whether at home or on holiday i get a great signal, even get 4G in the Lake District in Cumbria.
     
  15. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Vodafone are a freaking joke

    Would say stay away from them

    My girlfriend started a new contract with them a few weeks ago and after getting her 6S phone it was 9 days and they still didn't activate the sim so she cancelled and went with o2 where it started to work instantly.

    then she keeps getting e-mails saying to collect her phone otherwise they will cancel the contract...embarrassing company
     
  16. mrklaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #16
    Vodafone is the same. Mine was a sim only 12 month contract. Only limitation is that it has to be a red plan.
     
  17. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #17
    The OP says he has a "red bundle"...

    C
     
  18. mrklaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #18
    Right, so in terms of anecdotal evidence, we have one person saying it was fine for them, and one person saying it wasn't. And vodafone's info says clearly that it should be available to red contract holders.

    This just sounds like you got a bad CS rep and need to try again, and escalate if necessary. I have found VF to be very hit and miss for customer services.
     
  19. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #19
    Hi,

    As far as I'm aware as long as your on an eligible tariff and using a 6s or 6s plus they'll activate this feature.

    If you spoke to Live Chat I would call 191 or visa versa. It can sometimes depend on the working knowledge of the agent your speaking to.

    The link here http://www.vodafone.co.uk/explore/network/network-improvements/wi-fi-calling/index.htm does not stipulate as far as I can see that the phone has to be sourced from the Network.
     
  20. mrklaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #20
    OP - do you have a sim only contract, or was it bought along with a phone? If it was originally with a phone, maybe there is something in their system going 'oops - we don't support wifi calling on phone X'?

    But basically what bandofbrothers just said - contact them and speak to someone else and I bet you'll get it sorted quickly
     
  21. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #21
    Yep:

    To take advantage of Wi-Fi Calling, you need:

    • a Pay monthly Red or Red Value Bundle, Red+ or Business Premier*
    • iPhone 6s or iPhone 6s Plus
    OP-ring them back and get this sorted.
     
  22. Mercenary macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #22
    If Voda don't have signal in your house then they are not the network for you.

    They are also a really bad network for speed, customer service and price.
     
  23. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #23
    For where you are and in your experience maybe, but you can't blanket the whole of VF (or any company for that matter) with sweeping anecdotal generalisations.
     
  24. mrklaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #24
    None of the networks have a decent signal in my house. So Vodafone and EE are a good option for me because they offer wifi calling.
     
  25. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #25
    How about considering the Sure Signal Device that creates a 3G signal in the home.

    Although it does have a one off cost.
     

Share This Page