voip and I need a new router

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by calsci, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. calsci macrumors 6502

    calsci

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys so my dad's job has given him a voip phone for him to use but we need a new router. It is causing problems with the phone. We can spend up to $150-$180 on a new router. Any ideas for what kind of router would be good. Would an airport extreme base station work.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    An AEBS would probably work, but it depends on what exactly you're looking for. A standard 4-port "n" wireless router can be had for less than the cost of an AEBS though.
     
  3. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    Netgear WNDR3700 is my choice.

    Airport might not work well due to the lack of QoS but some people had no issues with it.

    Why do you need a new router and what kind of issues are you having? It is possible it can be fixed with some settings changed. Make sure SIP ALG is turned off, DMZ for the phone would work well.
     
  4. calsci thread starter macrumors 6502

    calsci

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    #4
    Our linksys router has been really tempermental and is not working well with the phone. also the phone just plugs into one of the ethernet port on the router.
     
  5. calsci thread starter macrumors 6502

    calsci

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    #5
    Can you explain what you mean by this? I'm not very well versed in networking.
     

Share This Page