VOIPcheap on Macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by chivers1979, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. chivers1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #1
    Hello there i'm new to this site and quite new to this amazing imac.

    Wht i was wondering if there is anyway to use voipcheap in any way, (it is the only thing i can say i miss, oh well)

    don't know if this will work is to use the sip settings from there on a different peice of software.

    Has anone got anything on this please, thank for reading
    :apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    fom the voipcheap faq-

    Can I use VoipCheap with Mac or Linux?^ top

    Are you a Mac or Linux users and want to benefit from the cheap VoipCheap Rates, we have the solution!When using Mac or Linux it is possible to use VoipCheapby just downloading the FREE Softphone of your choice!How it works; -Subscribe to VoipCheap.com (with a PC) click here.-Download the softphone of your choice, we advice the following FREE Softphones; Mac users; click here. Linux users; click here.-Follow the instructions when installing your softphone and use our sip settings (click here for more info.)-Make cheap calls via VoipCheap!


    so it looks like you can use it. with a little bit more setup.

    (oh and fyi the all-caps in your post is considered "shouting" some people don't like :) )
     
  3. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #3
    not to mention all-caps and bold...lol
     
  4. David G. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Alaska
    #4
    Your one to talk... look at the state of your signature. jk:D
     
  5. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #5
    touche....
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  7. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    Settle down, hes a newbie. :)
     
  8. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    True, but computer etiquette is the same everywhere and isn't unique to this site.
     
  9. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #10
    Maybe he's a newbie to the Internets also.
     
  10. bamaworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #11
    I really like the attempt at bold/italics on the post title :).
     
  11. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Hey newbie, figured out what the red underlining is yet?
     
  12. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #13
    this even beats the guy who got around the no caps rule for post titles by posting only one letter in lowercase.
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    I wanted to be really 1337 and use Devon's word services to change the case of the post too, but apparently it isn't installed anymore on this Mac, and I have to log out and back in to reinstall it.... Sigh

    (EDIT: Frack it, it was worth logging out and back in. :D )
     
  14. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #15
    whats that? and why do you have to log out and in again?

    EDIT: oh k! ya just saw mkrishnans edit at the top of the page… OoOo 4 reasons! someones a naughty MacRumors user!
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    It's actually a really nice set of freeware items that go in the services menu. Last one on the list here:

    http://www.devon-technologies.com/products/freeware/services.html

    They can be applied to most text fields, so you can highlight text in most apps and alphabetize or numerically re-orde a list, change the case, etc, etc. I don't know how I lost it on my iMac.... it comes in extremely handy every once in a while. They have some other nice service menu tools too. :)
     
  16. chivers1979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #17
    so that quote you gave me at the top, has anyone used it successfully.

    if you have give me a hand please

    from newbie.xx
     

Share This Page