voltage converter to be used in Europe

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by makintosh, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. makintosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #1
    I will be taking my iMac to Europe. What kind of plug or voltage converter should I buy, has anyone had a similar experience, or any suggestions where to go? Mostly, I'm worried about buying a wrong converter and damaging the computer.

    Thank you
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    you don't need a voltage converter, all macs are 110-250v You just need the correct plug adapter.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    Most iMacs have switching power supplies, however some early flat panels and those from 2006 don't. I would suggest searching Apple's support pages just to make sure. Then all you would need is the appropriate cable with the right plugs to work in the different EU sockets.

    TEG
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    What about a MacBook Pro bought last Tuesday?
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    All the Notebooks have switching power supplies, as they are expected to travel. However, I recall threads in this forum regarding a person at a US Military base in the UK who purchased an iMac, but ended up frying the power supply because either it was purchased in the UK and the house had US power, or visa-versa.

    TEG
     
  6. scotty96LSC macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Reminds me when I was stationed in Germany in the mid 80s. I had to carry this 20-pound converter everywhere I went to use my razor. And then when I got married, I had to take it on my honeymoon so my new wife could use the hair dryer.
    I wish that stuff was dual voltage back then.
     

Share This Page