Volume control earphones for 1st gen iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by wmf, May 26, 2009.

  1. wmf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #1
    The volume control feature on both the 'Apple Earphones with Remote and Mic' and the 'Apple In-Ear Headphones with Remote and Mic' only work with 2nd generation iPod touch, but not the original/1st generation.

    Does anyone know, are there earphones with volume control on the cord that work with the original/1st generation iPod touch? Or is a 2nd gen required to make that work regardless of brand of earphone?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #2
    None will normally work on the 1G. This is because standard headphone plugs have a certain number of 'contacts' (I think it's two, IIRC), where the headphone cable connects to the plug. The plug on the 2G touch, however, has an extra contact for the microphone/remote. Because the plug in the 1G is only equipped for headphones with two contacts, it can't work with headphones that contain a microphone/remote.
     
  3. xhArRiSoNxD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    No they won't work.
    I went to the apple store and pluged the headphones that had volume control into my 1st Gen and the volume control didn't work.
     
  4. wmf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #4
    Thank you both. Glad I found this forum. Alot of good info (people? :) here.

    Sennheiser MX660 has volume control. I emailed them and asked if it works with the 1st gen iTouch and they said yes. But I am a little skeptical because I don't know or understand whether it is simply not possible (because of the iTouch 1st gen design) or if Sennheiser uses a different method to control volume than the Apple headphones do, one that is independent of the iTouch.

    :confused:
     
  5. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #6
    The volume control in the senns is just a resistor to turn the volume down. Basically you set the touch as loud as you want it and use the headphone control to turn some of the sound into heat instead of sound (and therefore reduce the volume you hear). It would use slightly more battery than actually turning the ipod volume down, but will work with any headphone jack. If the volume control on the headphones is all the way up, ipod battery life will be unaffected.
     
  6. wmf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #7
    Excellent. A resistor turns some of the volume into heat! Whereas the Apple headphone "remote" lowers the volume by actually communicating with the iTouch through the cord, via an additional connection in the jack that the 2nd gen has, but the 1st gen doesn't. Also, good to know higher volume = higher battery drain. Ahhhhhh. I feel so much better. THANK YOU!!!
     
  7. crmccashin macrumors regular

    crmccashin

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #8
    The Sennheisers work very well with the first generation. You do adjust the level just a bit higher than normal, but most of the time I find myself turning them down for what ever reason.
    I really do not notice any difference in run/battery times and if there is any heat, it is not discernible.
    If you want some decent ear buds for a 1st generation with a volume control, these are fine.
     
  8. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #9
    I plugged the newer apple headphones with the mic into my 1st gen Touch, and it only plays out of one ear, but plays out of both with the older earbuds, is that normal?
     
  9. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #10
    If you lock at the earphone plugs you will notice that one with the mic has 4 connection points and the other has only 3. The 1G touch audio socket only has 3 connection points so a channel is being dropped when you try to use the 4 point plug.
     

Share This Page