Volume control - iOS and Android

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by bufffilm, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    i have a JB 6s...never owned a smartphone before getting this phone.

    My question is this: Does Android (out of the box, w/o rooting the phone, etc) offer more granularity with the volume control than Apple?

    I am amazed that Apple doesn't allow you to control more than the ringer/alert and general audio on their devices.

    Is Android any different?

    I wanted to ask this question here rather than the Alternatives forum because of user famililarity with tweaks available w/Cydia.
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    But your questions seem to be about Android and not about jailbreaking/tweaks. :confused:
     
  3. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #3
    You can control media volume, notification volume, ringtone volume and alarm volume independently.
     
  4. Hastings101 macrumors 68020

    Hastings101

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    K
    #4
    I think it all depends on the manufacturer and their design with Android. Samsung, for example, annoys the hell out of me because the notification volume and ring tone volume are two different settings, but maybe you would appreciate it.
     
  5. bufffilm thread starter Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for the replies.

    So it appears that Android does a bit more, out of the box, than Apple.

    Perhaps I should have included a screenshot of my phone.

    image.png


    As you can see, different levels set which I like. If I do get an Android phone sometime down the road, I'll know what I'm getting into.
     
  6. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    I'm not sure what you are asking. iPhone maintains separate volume settings for the ringtone, Siri, speaker audio, headphone audio, bluetooth audio, telephone audio, alarm audio. What else is there?
     
  7. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #7
    I think what he's getting at is iOS doesn't let you preset those levels.
    By default, when you press the volume button on an iPhone, it adjust ringer volume. You also cannot set ringer volume and notification volume independently of each other.
    The only time you can adjust other volume levels, i.e., video playback volume, is when you're actually using an app with that uses it.
    Android let's you preset those levels and you can adjust that at any time regardless of what app you're in.
    Hit the volume button on stock android and you get presented with 3 sliders. Ringer, Notification and System.
    If you're in a media app, a fourth media volume is added to that set of sliders.
     
  8. bufffilm thread starter Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #8
    You said it perfectly...thank you.

    There were times when I adjusted one setting (think it was the speaker volume) and then found the volume of the phone call affected as well.
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    The tweak you show in use, Volume Mixer 2, is one of my favorites. Volume settings do get screwed up and it's the only way to visualize what's going on with all of them. The VM2 controls change when you're connected to a Bluetooth audio device, also.
     
  10. bufffilm, Nov 11, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016

    bufffilm thread starter Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #10
    Yes, it is easy to screw up the controls. I haven't nailed down the exact steps in this regard, but it's happened more than once.

    That's why it is strange to me that Apple doesn't have a way to do this out of the box. Such a basic function and Apple locks it down with no way to change it. And it's been locked down for years...what gives, Apple?!

    I don't see anything new with the VM2 controls though when connected to BT. Can you please expound?
     
  11. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #11
    I have all the audio categories checked in Settings>Volume Mixer 2

    This is what I see normally:
    Image-1.jpg

    This is when connected to a BT headset:
    Image-1-1.jpg
     
  12. bufffilm, Nov 11, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016

    bufffilm thread starter Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #12
    Ahhh, I see...thanks! I didn't have the headset checked off.

    As posted in the opening post, I never had a smartphone before this...just baffled that Apple never had a way to do this easily and why they would not allow someone to write an app (to publish in the App Srore to allow this) to be both the height of absurdity as well as show the overweening measure of control Apple insists to have with every aspect of the device!

    I mean really...what possible harm could a user do to their iPhone/iPad/iPod if Apple allowed this??? And if Apple doesn't want to update iOS to do this, let developers do it then.

    This tweak is a must-have for every jail-broken i-device.
     
  13. Nr123*123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #13
    You can change media volume on iOS at anytime using the volume keys.

    Settings > sounds > change with buttons
     

Share This Page