Volume control while paired with AirPods

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by 4ndr3w, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. 4ndr3w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Can anyone with AirPods and an Apple Watch see if the digital crown on the watch gets mapped to control the *phone* volume when AirPods are paired to the phone and listening to music off the phone?
     
  2. Juiceboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Nothing from what i can tell. Only if you open the now playing app
    It nothing is on the watch screen the crown just adjusts the brightness
     
  3. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Brightness? Huh?
     
  4. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #4
    its like a theater mode. if your watch screen is off and you turn the crown it gradually turns up the Apple Watch brightness.
     
  5. eagleglen macrumors 6502a

    eagleglen

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    I agree, I wish the dial could adjust volume by default. Another option would be for a Now Playing complication that you could put on a watch face. They could also put the Now Playing app next to the control panel when you swipe up from the watch face. Hopefully the lack of a volume control on the AirPods will prompt Apple to incorporate some method for quicker access. It would be so easy.
     
  6. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    No idea what you're talking about, sorry. My Watch doesn't do that.
     
  7. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #7
    are you on the latest watch os? try scrolling the crown away from you. screens gotta be off tho.
     
  8. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Yep, and nothing happens.
     
  9. eagleglen macrumors 6502a

    eagleglen

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    This doesn't seem like a legitimate feature. Why would you adjust the brightness with the screen off? And why is the control only accessible with the screen off. They finally have the watch working were it almost always turns on when raised. It took a while to even try this and I don't see any change in brightness. I'm running the latest watch OS.
     
  10. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    It's a Series 2-only feature. Essentially allows you to turn on the screen slowly with a control over how bright it gets in case there's a situation where a sudden bright light would be distracting.
     
  11. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    Fair enough. Series 0 owner here.
     
  12. dave2010 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    Canberra
    #12
    Yes, It's the same as if you're using wired headphones. I only have "Now Playing" docked on my Apple Watch so it's not too hard to use the Apple Watch to control volume on my AirPods.
    I should say that using Siri to change volume is pretty easy too; though I understand some people won't want to do this.
     
  13. Sheza macrumors 68000

    Sheza

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon & London At The Same Time
    #13
    Right to clear things up:

    Using the crown to adjust brightness is a Series 2 feature that only happens if the watch screen is off. If you flick your wrist and then try turning the crown, nothing will happen. If it's off, and you turn the crown, brightness gradually increases.

    But going into the 'Now Playing' app will definitely allow you to change AirPods volume form what I have heard.
     
  14. 4ndr3w thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    Thanks everyone. I really like the design of AirPods and can get by with any physical play/pause buttons (tapping can be remapped) but I really want a way of being able to adjust volume without taking my eyes off of whatever I'm doing. Having inline controls built into headphones since the first iPhone has made it second nature to me.
     
  15. eagleglen macrumors 6502a

    eagleglen

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #15
    Oh, ok, sorry. I have a series 0 still.
     
  16. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68000

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #16
    I just use my watch for volume control for my AirPods . Works really well
     
  17. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #17
    So do I - my AirPods are arriving this afternoon, I wish the crown could be mapped to volume control. Still looking forward to them though.
     
  18. andysw9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Yes, it does.
     
  19. Onofire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    #19
    AirPods have to be paired to the watch in order for the digital crown to control volume. If pods are connected to phone, crown doesn't control volume. Also have to be in the "now playing" screen as stated above.
     
  20. Ma2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Ma2k5

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    #20
    You sure? Pretty sure crown can control volume on now playing screen while paired to iPhone (if source of music is iPhone). It works with my iSport wireless buds so I'd be surprised if not with Airpods...
     
  21. Onofire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    #21
    Maybe it was a glitch but this AM when I paired the AirPods with the iPhone, I couldn't control the volume until I went and selected the AirPods on my watch as the output source.
     
  22. Ma2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Ma2k5

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    #22
    Just tested on my Airpods, think you either had a glitch or you didn't go to the "Now Playing" section as working perfectly for me.
     
  23. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    It works for me. AirPods paired to iPhone. AW S2 on Now Playing screen and the crown changes the volume.
     
  24. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68000

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #24
    Yep it works for me too. My phone streams to my watch and my pods paired to my watch so i could use the crown instantly
     
  25. Sheza macrumors 68000

    Sheza

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon & London At The Same Time
    #25
    I think it's more likely that the phone is the source of the music... unless you're playing your 2GB watch allowance.
     

Share This Page