Volume structure failed when ran TechTool Deluxe

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by cheekybobcat, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. cheekybobcat macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
    #1
    I ran TechTool Deluxe and noticed that the volume structure failed. Not sure what this means...
    can anyone shed some light on this?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    It means that the logical structure of your hard drive is scrambled. You have already probably lost some files but you don't know it yet.

    You need to back up all your data ASAP.

    Tech Tool may be able to repair it, or DiskWarrior is the undisputed champion at repairing volume and catalog problems.

    This is a software problem, it is not necessarily an indicator that your hard drive is failing in hardware (although there's a chance that it IS and this is the first symptom.

    If you can't repair it, the course of action is to back up all data, reformat (erase) the drive, and reinstall OS and data.
     
  3. cheekybobcat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
    #3
    Well this is what's happening now. It says Failed when the actual test in progress but the report afterwards says that it passed... I don't understand what it is now...passing or failing.
    I've done the test for the Volume Structure about 5 times and the same thing happens; fails in test, passes in report.
     
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    Have you done a surface scan yet ? If not I'd recommend it .
     
  5. cheekybobcat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
    #5
    Doing one now...I'll keep you posted
    *edit* It's taking a very long time, much longer then ever before. I don't know if that's significant but I just thought I'd post it just in case...
     
  6. cheekybobcat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
    #6
    is it alright to have other programs running while scanning?
    i have itunes and handbrake running but im thinking that those programs are the cause of the slow scan
     
  7. cheekybobcat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
  8. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #8
    having the same problem, i was unable to repair the disk from disk ultility so ran techtool deluxe and the volume failed, then it takes you to a page on the apple site which says download this version to repair???
    is this an updated version of techtool?
    ive had mine for a year but this is the first time ive had to use it?


    thi sis the second time in a matter of weeks this has happened, the spinning beach appears and nothing i do will stop it, then the mac doesn't start up at all, i then have to hook up my old keyboard to get the thing started(very wierd!!)
    run disk repair and it fails! last time i done an erase and install but that was only 2 weeks ago!!
     
  9. Frankus1122 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #9
    TechTool Deluxe Volume Structure Fail

    I had exactly the same problem.
    I ran the TechTool Deluxe and everything passed but the Volume Structure Failed.
    Then the report said it passed.
    Ran it again with the same 'problem'.
    Should I run Disk Warrior?
     
  10. eellerto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #10
    I don't know if anyone is still around on this thread...

    I just bought applecare and got techtool deluxe. My structure also fails and it tell me that to fix it I need to use the link on the apple page, so I am sent to the apple site, but what I download is exactly the same thing that I already have. It doesn't seem to have any repair abilities at all. How do I use this this techtool deluxe?


    Elaine
    leopard Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G55)
     
  11. shanshor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #11
    First, sorry for reviving the thread. I am in the same mess as you. If you read carefully you will find that the DVD only has diagnostic abilities, but the DMG has diagnostics and REPAIR.

    :) Hope it fixes both of ours
     
  12. alovett2036 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #12
    TechTool Repair instructions

    After you download the DMG open the quick start guide and it will give you instructions on how to run the repair procedure. It says:

    "After downloading the software, back up your essential data. Then insert the CD and choose Restart from the Apple menu. Hold down the C key while the computer starts up and follow the onscreen instructions to proceed."

    I haven't tried it yet, but I seem to remember doing this procedure years ago on a previous Mac.
     
  13. 2005CTS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #13
    That didn't work. Anyone have any ideas? My imac is barely over a month old.
     

Share This Page