Volume Switch Fell off BUTT....

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by michaelgettys, Apr 1, 2009.

1. michaelgettys macrumors member

My volume switch fell off of my iPhone 3g. I have gotten my phone switched out before at an Apple store but the only thing different this time is that it has 3.0 beta on it. I am a developer and bought the sdk. I DID NOT download it. Will apple still honor the warranty on the phone since it has 3.0 on it?

2. TheSpaz macrumors 604

TheSpaz

How did you get the beta without downloading it? Did they send it on a CD in the mail or something?

3. lindsayanng macrumors 68000

lindsayanng

i'm sure if you are a certified developer, or can show yourself as a beta user for a certified developer, you should be fine.

4. michaelgettys thread starter macrumors member

of course i downloaded it. I ment i did not download it off a torrent

5. eyefoniac macrumors 6502

eyefoniac

I imagine that they will, I see no reason why they shouldn't. You legitimately purchased and are participating in the developer program. They, if anything, should be appreciative that you have 3.0b installed, that you are helping them knock out the bugs. ;-)

6. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

Knowlege Bomb

It's their software. Why wouldn't they honor the warranty?

7. michaelgettys thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the help guys. Just wanted to get other peoples opinion. It would be one thing if there was an apple store where I live. I have to drive about and half to Charlotte!

8. Ron21 macrumors 6502a

Don't even mention 3.0. Since it's a hardware problem most likely they won't even check and if they do just say you are a legit dev.

9. richg916 macrumors regular

Yes, they will honor the warranty. I got a replacement yesterday for cracks, and mine had 3.0 on it.
    Also, the "Genius" was talking with me about 3.0... so he did notice it was on there.

10. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

Figbash Acrobat

( Okay. EXACT same issue, but... )