VPN Connection Pass Through Airport Extreme (Windows RRAS)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bleepjay, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. bleepjay, Jul 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2014

    bleepjay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #1
    I'm having an issue with the latest version Airport Extreme Base Station (Firmware v. 7.7.3) where I cannot connect to a windows 2003 VPN (RRAS Server).

    I've bypassed my AEBS, and the connection will go fine (via PPTP), but as soon as I go through the AEBS, it never goes through. Something is being blocked at the AEBS.

    Has anybody gotten through this issue before?

    Background: I just upgraded this AEBS to latest version and it was working before on previous version AEBS. I reverted back to that setup, and it wasn't working anymore. Nothing seems to have changed but it no longer works (with new or old AEBS).
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Did you have to forward ports on the old setup? If so you will need to update your configuration on the new AirPort to support this.
     
  3. bleepjay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #3
    I'm pretty sure I didn't have any ports forwarded, and I used the Airport Utility upgrade wizard, which brought over all of the settings.

    I'm pretty sure you wouldn't have to forward any ports on a passthrough though.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    That's right. Clients should just work through the router.

    There's a 3 year old thread here with the same issue. The solution was to use the VPN server's actual IP address.
     
  5. bleepjay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #5
    I tried that, but still get stuck here:
    Code:
    The PPTP-VPN server did not respond. Try reconnecting. 
    If the problem continues, verify your settings and contact your Administrator.
    Also, trying to connect via a Windows 8 VPN Connection, I get an error 800.

    I can't even telnet to the PPTP port on the server either. It's getting blocked somewhere. When I plug directly into the modem, it works fine.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    This is not an uncommon problem according to a search.

    Someone wrote that it might be a conflict in IP addresses...if the VPN DHCP IP range is the same (or overlaps) the one on the AE.

    Is that the case with your VPN and AE?
     
  7. bleepjay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #7
    No, I already tried that. It doesn't overlap, but I even tried it and changed it.

    Weird thing is, it was working with my 5th Gen AEBS, but after setting up the new one and it not working, I plugged the old one back up, and it didn't work then.

    I've been able to connect to some anonymous VPN PPTP services, but not MS RRAS VPN
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    I am not too familiar with VPN setup as I am just beginning work in the network field (I'm 16). Perhaps this may be of some use to you...
     
  9. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #9
    This is probably worthless information, but with no configuration I can connect to a CISCO VPN through my 4th gen Airport extreme with no configuration on my part (though I guess the Airport allows configuration by clients automatically on my end...which I guess is how my Xbox stuff works with no port forwarding too...I guess...)
     
  10. macaddictmike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #10
    I was having the same problem and when I did an nslookup on name for the VPN site, it appended the internal domain and returned an address which you could only get once you're connected to the VPN. The Airport Extreme was caching the address and assigning it a bogus DNS name. For my connection at home, I set the DNS server to Google's public DNS of 8.8.8.8 and then I could connect to VPN off my corporate Windows laptop.
     

Share This Page