Vpn settings

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Nadeem_Guroo, Apr 27, 2017.

1. Nadeem_Guroo macrumors member

Nadeem_Guroo

hello
    I am an iphone 7 user,recently facebook and whatsapp has been blocked in my location by all the isp's so i want to use vpn to unblock the blocked apps,i tried installing vpn apps like hotspot shield vpn,they work but they drain the battery too fast,can you guys give me a direct vpn configuration that i can make in settings to access these apps without installing any third party app,i dont know whether thats possible or not coz i have never used vpn's before.
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Apr 27, 2017 ---
    I have found the vpn configuration but after i turn it on in the settings it connects and if i lock the device after sometime it automatically turns off,i want to keep it active all the time,how can i do that

2. Shirasaki macrumors 604

Shirasaki

Native VPN support in iOS is rather weak, plus it also drains power pretty quick.

I used VPN Unlimited before and it worked pretty well against Chinese GFW. Unfortunately, it drains power a lot too.

VPN needs to constantly connect to network to make sure connection is always available and stable. So I would carry a battery pack with me all the time when using vpn intensively.

3. KALLT macrumors 601

I think only IKEv2-based VPNs have an optional always-on configuration on iOS, but this cannot be set within the system itself (only via a managed profile).

You should try OpenVPN, I have had better results with that app.

4. Audigy macrumors member

Audigy

If it's just a DNS block, you can use Adguard Pro or DNSOverride to force another DNS server via a fake VPN profile. This method is great for those unblock purposes, since is light on resources and there is no need to redirect any traffic whatsoever.

5. Nadeem_Guroo thread starter macrumors member

Nadeem_Guroo