VRAM in EFI

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheDawnTrio, May 10, 2014.

  1. TheDawnTrio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    #1
    I need more VRAM for an upcoming amazing game titled Watch_Dogs. I have Parallels with Windows 8.1 Pro, but there's one problem. The game need 1 GB VRAM and I only have 512 MB. I would like to allocate 1536 MB to VRAM from my RAM and from what I've read, there is no virtual BIOS in parallels. I would like to know if there is a safe way to allocate that VRAM to my general iMac. Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. Habberkuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #2
    Watch dogs is a very graphics intensive game. You will get very bad performance if you choose to run it through a virtual machine.
    I'm almost sure that you can't allocate normal ram for the GPU.
    I would recommend making a windows partition with bootcamp
     
  3. TheDawnTrio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    #3
    Model Identifier: iMac12,1
    If that's not any help, the first few lines in my signature.
     
  4. Habberkuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #4
    Hmmm ... if the minimum requirements says 1 GB, I think you're out of luck unfortunately :(
    I'm not sure though. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Habberkuk is correct. You cannot increase VRAM for a virtual machine beyond what is within that virtual machine's configuration and that is rarely ever beyond the physical amount of VRAM.
     
  6. TheDawnTrio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014

Share This Page