VRAM increase on RAM increase?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jannikn, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. jannikn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #1
    Zup.
    I have MacBook Pro late 2011, I have 4gb ram and 256 mb Vram, I have heard that if I increase my ram, my VRAM will also increase. :eek: .

    So, if I buy 16gb ram and put it in my computer, will I get more VRAM? Because I seriously need it :confused: :apple::apple:
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    4GB will have 256MB VRAM.
    8GB and up will get 512MB VRAM.

    Your HD3000 wont get more VRAM than 512MB.
     
  3. jannikn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #3
    Now the question is, what if I am in bootcamp, you know on windows. Mac uses a different ATI card then
     
  4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Im positive the HD3000 wont be any higher than 512MB.
    And even in Bootcamp, the dedicated GPU or the Radeon 6750M/6770M wont change at all.
    It already has its dedicated VRAM.

    HD3000 memory increase because its shared with your main memory.
     
  5. BB.King macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    I have a 2012 15" Macbook Pro with 10GB of RAM (1X2GB, 1X8GB).

    Here is what About this mac reports:

    Intel HD Graphics 4000 384 MB

    The laptop is updated to the latest software. Before the the latest 2.0 update, I had 512MB of RAM allocated to the HD 4000.
     
  6. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Sorry my bad.
    Its 384MB with 4GB DDR3 shared.
    Either way his MBP is 2011 model.
     
  7. jannikn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #7
    You are saying that my bootcamp VRAM will keep being 256 mb? When upgrading to 16gb?
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    After being updated to 16GB your HD3000 will be 512MB but no more than that.
    Your dedicated GPU, the AMD Radeon 6750M/6770M will have no change in VRAM what so ever.

    And my fault on 256MB.
    Its 384MB with 4GB DDR3 shared.
     
  9. jannikn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #9
    Are you completely sure?
    I mean, I need you to be 100% sure, I am thinking of buying 16gb ram, mostly for the VRAM.
     
  10. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Yes, I have 2011 MBP with 16GB DDR3.
     
  11. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #11
    In that case don't waste your money. The bottleneck of the HD3000 is not the VRAM at all, it's simply a crappy integrated card and nothing'll change that.

    Regardless, windows does not support the MBP's graphics switching so you'll be running on the ATI card at all times under bootcamp, so more VRAM due to more RAM will not be of any help whatsoever under Windows.

    You should probably research what VRAM is actually for before thinking it'll magically help performance.
     
  12. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    Buddy we are positive that Bootcamp doesnt support the graphic switching in MBP.

    Just a little googleing and you find that put easily.
    If you are intending to get 16GB to increase the VRAM for HD3000, just like Snaky69 said, forget about it.

    HD3000 was a horrible graphics card and increasing the VRAM wont help as much.

    If you are getting it so you can increase the RAM, go head and get it.
    But for your iGPU, forget it.
     

Share This Page