vshieldscanmanag???

Discussion in 'macOS' started by emit987, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. emit987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #1
    Hi, my Activity Monitor keeps showing vshieldscanmanag as taking up a lot of CPU space and seems to be making my computer run hot. I had to recently install mcAfee to access a college network but uninstalled it after. I can't find where this file or program is hidden on my computer and I feel like i've checked everywhere. How do I get this off my computer and to stop running.

    Thanks!
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Uninstall McAfee manually, using search terms "mcafee" and "vshield".


    To manually remove an application and all associated files:
    1. Launch Finder and search for the app name (hopefully unique, such as Skype)
    2. You can narrow the search to specific folders or search your whole Mac
    3. Searching "File Name" vs "Contents" usually provides better results.
    4. Click the + button below the search term to add criteria
    5. Click the "Album" drop-down and select "System files"
    6. Click the "Don't include" and change to "include"
    7. Sort by name, kind, date, etc. to identify components of the app, such as folders, .plist files, cache files. etc.
    8. Delete all files and folders related to the app.
    9. Don't empty your Trash until you've determined that everything is working OK, in case you need to restore something you deleted by accident.
    10. A reboot might be necessary to completely remove some apps.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. emit987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #3
    I tried that already

    It doesn't find any files or anything with either word...wondering if it's some oddly labeled .kext or .plist that I don't know about.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Did you follow the instructions exactly, especially steps 4, 5 and 6?
     
  5. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    Uninstalled how? I'm guessing that there's a McAfee uninstaller, either bundled with the installer or available at their website (or both). If there is, run that.
     

Share This Page