Vtiger: open source CRM software

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ambytiousone, Feb 25, 2009.

1. ambytiousone macrumors newbie

Good Day All!

So, this is my first posting in MacRumors; although I hope to become a new contributor as I learn and grow. Also, thanks in advance for the helpful answers that I am sure I will receive.

I am starting a new business doing a wide scope of things from sales consulting to SEO to basic web/graphic design. I have been researching CRM programs, namely open source, and have decided on Vtiger. Although I do like what I see with Sugarcrm and OpenCrx so if you can help me solve my dilema
    w/ either of those I would still be satisfied.

My only issue is that I have not been able to get the darn thing installed... mainly due to my inexperience with programming as a whole (no worries, I will learn this among a ton of other things I am studying/plan to learn)
    Unfortunately, there isn't a whole lot of useful information for mac users installing these programs. Granted they are open source, it just seems most of the users/developers on these particular programs appear to be windows users.

Anyhow, I found the installation instructions here

I am running an ibook g4 160gb (w/116gb available)
    mac os x 10.4.11 (tiger)

I tried to follow them step by step using the binary download, which they recommend for people let experiennced with MAMP, etc.
    Below are the instructions and the results that I am getting:
    After I posted the same info and a bit more in their forum: this is the link to my post.

This is the response I was given, I researched his claim that mac comes
    preinstalled with Apache ( although the binary download for vtiger comes bundled) and I don't believe he is an ounce correct.

So, my friends, can anyone offer better advice on installing vtiger? I am kind of an idiot in training on php, mysql and apache and "what-have-you"