Carrier VZW eSim

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AngusW, Dec 10, 2018.

  1. AngusW macrumors 6502

    AngusW

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #1
    So I've been trying since Saturday to have Verizon switch my number to an eSim number. One I finally get the QR code I keep on getting a message that the code is no longer valid. Has anyone else had similar problems? So far I've been working with the reps from the 800 number, would I be better off just going to the store and having them do this?
     
  2. techiegirl macrumors 65816

    techiegirl

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #2
    No help at the store either. They keep telling me my phone is locked. I put the physical Verizon sim in the phone to prove to them that the phone was not locked, but they refused to believe it.

    I ended up going to AT&T and get e-Sim from AT&T instead.
     
  3. popcorn-in-sac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA area
    #3
    I got mine done on Friday with Verizon chat. Took about 30 minutes, and was a bit rocky, but worked eventually. In my (limited) experience, the error message about a code no longer valid, and to contact your carrier means Verizon hasn't completed the process of accepting your eSIM IMEI number into their system. My chat rep told me they had to refresh the request on their end a number of times. Eventually, I was able to scan the QR code without getting the "no longer valid" message.

    My rep was also confused, thinking I needed to have WiFi off and leave the Verizon physical SIM card in the phone, which are both incorrect. Once they process the request to have your eSIM IMEI in their system, and it's time for you to scan the QR code, the Verizon SIM should be out of the phone, with WiFi turned on. If not, you'll get other errors when you try and scan that code -- specifically with WiFi being off since the phone has to be online for the code scan to work.

    Mark
     
  4. AngusW thread starter macrumors 6502

    AngusW

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #4
    I think I finally have it working after a couple hours with online support. Right now the IMEI still looks like it's the physical but they tell me when I swap the physical sim card the digital will actually show up then.
     
  5. 0970373 Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #5
    I had this issue when I ported over. Basically, the camera on the scanner doesn't pick up the QR area correctly. Your phone camera HAS to be in an exact position to capture it. I kept trying multiple times and just moving the phone over a little each time it failed. You could see what area is scanned and he code was always cut off by a little bit each time. Oy. Anyway, it finally scanned correctly on the 5th try. That was the problem I had when getting that error message but YMMV. The eSIM kicked in about a minute after the QR code was properly scanned.
     
  6. Orion1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    I had the same issue, they escalated it to the dual sim team (?), they redid the process properly and I could scan the same QR code that earlier showed as not-working...took 40 mins but now works like a charm
     
  7. AngusW thread starter macrumors 6502

    AngusW

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #7
    Turns out what was happening was that the first reps never asked for the digital IMEI number. They just reused the physical one. Once I got that straightened out it worked better.
     
  8. area52 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #8
    Sorry for my density here but I’m not sure I fully grasp the need for an e-sim. My assumption is if you travel overseas or something you can easily drop in a local sim and retain vzw as well. Is that accurate? If so is there any other reason?
     
  9. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #9
    International use is one reason.

    A lot of people have a personal line and a work line here in the states. eSIM gives us the opportunity to not carry around two phones all the time.
     
  10. area52 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #10

    Ah that makes sense. Are you able to set different ring tones per line?
     

Share This Page

9 December 10, 2018