W3 TFT pc version... mac patch help to install or advice???

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TBakerZah, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. TBakerZah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #1
    i got W3 TFT on my mac computer but mac doesn't recognize any of the files. my friend said that there is a patch for mac to make it work.
    i downloaded patch 1.21a for mac and the B.net logo appears, but it sais there is no files to update. if anyone has any suggestions please help. ( i just transfered this from my pc through USB because its got a fat virus and its F***ED. cheers.
     
  2. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #2
    As far as I know Blizzard made W3 Mac/PC compatible, no patch required to use the Mac version. (The copy I own certainly verifies this)

    If your talking about the Frozen Throne I'm assuming that you already have Warcraft 3: Reign of Chaos installed as well. (After all TFT is an expansion pack)

    However you are having trouble installing so I just want to clarify that.
     
  3. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #3
    Looking at your last line, are you saying that you transferred the W3 TFT files from PC to Mac? If so NO it won't work at all, no patch will help.

    The file and application structure are totally different.

    If that's not the case, as Darwin said, TFT is an expansion so you'll need W3 RoC to run it.

    With that in mind, make sure you have the UB patch/installer and the disk in the drive. Run the UB Patch/Installer you downloaded and THAT will install the game on an Intel machine. Also make sure you have the correct download, there are 2. One is for ROC ONLY and one is for both ROC and TFT. The blizzard patch page that has these is pretty self explanitory to determine which is which.
     
  4. TBakerZah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #4
    yeh i transfered it from my pc.. if i use the cd again cause i have lost the cd key. will it jsut make them into mac files cause the files are actually alreeady there?
     
  5. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #5
    Dude you really should 'install' it from the Mac. AFAIK it won't convert an *.exe to an *.app.

    You want to do it painless (and you probably could've already had it done by now) and proper, download the patch, run it and install the game proper. Remember to install both and dl the proper patch.

    If you lost the cd key you can get another by contacting Blizzard.
     
  6. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #6
    If you have the files war3.mpq and war3x.mpq ,they have the CDKeys embedded within them. All you need to do is find someway to install a Mac version and copy in these two files to make it your own.

    For example
    - Install RoC on your Mac using a CDKey obtained from a friend (keys work on either Mac or PC)
    - Install TFT on your Mac using a CDKey obtained from a friend (keys work on either Mac or PC)
    - Replace the files war3.mpq and war3x.mpq with the files from your PC to have Warcraft use your CDKeys

    Patch versions should not make any difference in the process.
     
  7. TBakerZah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #7
    oh sweet thanx man cause my friend gave me his cds today so ill try that thanx heaps!!
     

Share This Page