W3690 Max frequency can reach 3.93Ghz?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by h9826790, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. h9826790, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    I just finished the W3690 upgrade in my Mac Pro 2009 yesterday.

    When I try to stress my CPU today, I have an interesting result.

    MacCPUID.png

    Most of the time, MacCPUID shows the CPU running at 3.45Ghz.

    However, when I run Handbrake and WinX HD converter together.

    It capture the CPU running at 3.93Ghz, which is 5% higher than the W3690 Turbo clock speed 3.73Ghz.

    Of course the CPU won't stay at this speed, but personally I think it is interesting enough to see the CPU speed go beyond a normal limit without any over clocking.

    Or it's simply because MacCPUID is not a good software to accurately capture the CPU frequency?
     
  2. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
  3. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    I really want to do that, any suggestion?
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    ^^^^I think your using an earlier version. Did you use the one (V3.0) in the link above?

    Lou
     
  7. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Yes, I get it from the link
     
  8. frompast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #8
    It will go to 4.4 Ghz

    As well known in over clock world ,

    these W3680 W3690 .. will go 4.2 4.4 safe and sound.
     
  9. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #9
    the intel Power Gadget won't run on this CPU (-architecture). the utility is available for windows but also doesn't support this generation of CPUs. there's a turbo-boost monitor available from intel (windows only). information provided is very scarce. the software providing the most interesting information is i7z but it's available for linux only. I run all three operating systems on my Mac Pro (Mavericks; Windows 7 and Linux). also I have a W3690 on order so I'll check this out as soon as the CPU has arrived.

    link to i7z:
    https://code.google.com/p/i7z/
     
  10. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Thanks for the info, it's good to know that the CPU can perform better than what I expect. However, I didn't OC my Mac Pro (I even don't know is it possible in OSX), the CPU automatically OC itself sounds very interesting to me.
     
  11. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Thanks for the link, I really want to test it now. However, I didn't touch Linux for few years already, may be I should wait for your tests result rather than do it myself.

    Anyway, what I was trying to do is actually test the turbo boost speed. However, I don't know how to stress only 1 core, so I max out the whole CPU, and end up have this interesting result.

    For your info, the clock speed stay at 3.45 by using Geekbench stress function. And may be up to 3.7 when running Handbrake only.
     
  12. bearcatrp, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014

    bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #12
  13. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    It seems HW Monitor can only access the CPU's info, but not real time monitor it's performance.
     
  14. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #14
    Sorry to disappoint but the max speed is 3.73ghz. Probably sits at 3.6 most of the time.
     
  15. h9826790, Apr 20, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014

    h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    This is what I expect. Just wonder why MacCPUID will have this reading. :)

    Anyway, may I know how you get the correct reading of the CPU clock frequency?
     
  16. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
  17. h9826790 thread starter macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    Yes, by using Linpack, no matter what I do, the best I can capture is 3.723GHz

    Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 23.19.32.png
     

Share This Page