Wacom Graphire Tablet, pen broken?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by design-is, May 11, 2009.

  1. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #1
    Hi all,

    Wondering if anyone can offer me advice? I have an A5 Wacom Graphire 3 Tablet, which has served me well for many years. The pen end of the stylus has stopped working. The eraser end still works fine. It's old now, so I'm not surprised somethings gone funny, but I haven't the knowledge to know what to do.

    Has anyone come across this problem?

    Do I need a complete new pen? Or would a new nib do the trick? Is it even possible to change the nib on a Graphire pen?

    I asked Wacom and of course, they said I should buy new stuff.

    Thanks in advance for any knowhow :)

    /Doug
     
  2. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #2
    The nib is just a plastic stick, it doesnt do anything, you only replace them when they get worn down.

    The only thing to try besides replacing the pen is to reinstall the drivers.
     
  3. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion, but the symptoms are the same across multiple computers. Must be something in the pen that's buggered.

    Cheers anyway! thought it was worth asking :)

    /Doug
     
  4. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #4
    Problem solved, managed to convince the boss to get me a new Intuos 4. great stuff. Those little OLED displays look like they will come in real useful!
     
  5. Mac Kiwi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Just in case yourself or someone else has the same problem,way to check is this - system prefs - Wacom Tablet - About button - Diagnose....shows you what switches are not opening closing etc. {intuos 3}


    Previous versions I think its under help menu.
     

Share This Page