Wait for new Intel SSDs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by murdercitydevil, Apr 23, 2010.

1. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

murdercitydevil

I really want to get an SSD for my new MBP but the way I see it the price/capacity ratio is still out of whack. The next generation of Intel SSDs promises greater capacities and lower prices, and maybe by the time they're out OS X will have TRIM support. I don't NEED an SSD per se, but I am really itching to get one and try it out. I've never used them before and am dying to see what kind of performance benefits are to be had. I have a feeling this MBP is really being bottlnecked by a slow hard drive. Should I wait it out until Q4, or buy one now, and maybe sell the old one later? Thanks for the advice!

2. penter macrumors 6502a

penter

idk... just got the 7200rpm i7, and it pretty much flies.
    it all depends on what kind of work you're doing, too. Do you work in the design industry, editing/playing/creating videos & other large files (music industry, maybe?) If so, then I think a SSD will handle really well.

3. murdercitydevil thread starter macrumors 68000

murdercitydevil

wanted to resurrect this thread since I never got an answer and am still just as intrigued about the SSD dilemma. wait or buy now? The problem I see is that the resale value of the old one is probably going to go down the drain once new revisions are out though...

4. cyclical macrumors regular

I would wait. The Sandforce-based devices seem to be the performance leaders at the moment, but their pricing is pretty steep. Once competition arrives prices should come down.

As for TRIM support in OSX, I wouldn't hold my breath if I were you :eek:

5. kboller07 macrumors member