wait for october or buy now?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jeffuwee, Aug 31, 2008.

1. jeffuwee macrumors member

jeffuwee

hi, im a new user to mac's in general although i've had ipods here and there.
    i am currently a senior highschool student and i was wondering whether i should
    wait until the rumored october upgrade or just buy it now. i'm planning to buy a macbookpro. i'll probably just use leopard for schoolwork, graphic/video editing, and etc. and use bootcamp with xp professional for my gaming needs ie, cs:s and future games such as starcraft2.

so i guess my question is should i just buy a macbookpro now from somebody on craigslist for cheap? or wait till october when the prices might go higher and buy it directly from apple?

thank you.

2. zap2 macrumors 604

zap2

Can you wait? If so, then do it. If you need the MBP for an upcoming trip, project or you don't have a computer that currently works and need one for school, then buy now, and enjoy.

I'd wait at least until the 9th, should push prices down on old stuff if anything new comes out, or you could look at the new stuff.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

It is the classic decision discussed on here every day

You can use MRoogle to do a search and find lots of threads started by others with the same dilemma

However, the prices aren't likely to go up, just the specs

I always say, if you can wait, wait... if not, buy
    There will always be another new model on the horizon

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

4. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

I doubt the new models will be higher priced, they are more likely to remain the same prices, if not lower priced.

If you need it now, buy it, if you don't need it, wait...

It's fairly simple, it astonishes me how many "should I buy, should I wait" threads are made every day on here, they're all exactly the same, and they all get the same advice...

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe