Wait For Snow Leopard?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Vick77, Mar 7, 2009.

1. Vick77 macrumors member

Hi, I bought my 2.8ghz MacBook Pro 3 months ago, and I for one am slightly disappointed in the recent speed bumps. Although I understand the real day differences will be negligible.

Anyways I intend on updating to iLife '09 aswell as purchasing iWork '09 ...and would also like to purchase Snow Leopard once it becomes available.

Being a student I need to save every penny I have however I estimate the cost of these software upgrades to be >£150. Would it be wiser to sell my Macbook Pro and just buy it again once snow leopard and iLife '09 are available as standard or would it be cheaper to buy the software as it becomes available?

2. Leeny182 macrumors newbie

Purchase the Box Set

Apple offers a box set that includes all three for like $169 which is a super good deal. I would wait until Snow Leopard is out and buy the box set. And I believe if you check Amazon.com it might be a little cheaper.

3. OllyW Moderator

OllyW

Staff Member

It costs £149 in the UK, saving £72 at the current price for the individual items.

4. Val-kyrie macrumors 65816

These three include Leopard, iWork 09, and iLife 09. The OP was inquiring about Snow Leopard with iWork 09 and iLife 09. I am waiting on upgrading iLife and iWork now in the hope that Apple runs the same boxed special later only with Snow Leopard.

5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Yeah, and who's to say that there will not be a Snow Leopard Box Set?

6. Battlefield Fan macrumors 65816

Battlefield Fan

No one ever said apple was going to release a snow leapord box set. Don't assume. I mean to say that nicely though because I don't want the op to plan on buying something that never comes out

7. Val-kyrie macrumors 65816

Good advice. I don't need the upgrades right now, so it doesn't matter to me, but I am not sure about the OP. Still, I hope for a Snow Leopard Box set.