Wait, so Apple hasn't done any updates since release?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zellio, Feb 20, 2016.

  1. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    Not even on the cpu and gpu? Would it really be difficult to replace the cpu and gpu with a newer one? Newer cpus and gpus pretty much always use less heat too!
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    MacPros have had 6 different hardware generations (releases), each with a variety of changes, over the years since 2006 and the first version of the MacPro.
    If you are asking about the current MacPro (the trusty cylinder), then, no, no updates from Apple, other than software.

    If you want to try your own upgrades, Here's a good list, that is pretty thorough, I think.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-cpu-compatibility-list.1954766/

    GPUs are not likely with the present design from what I read.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/upgrading-nmp-6-1-cpu-graphics.1952940/
     
  3. macpro00 macrumors member

    macpro00

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    #3
    a lot of theories, speculation, etc. One of them (I wouldn't be surprised) is phasing out of the MacPro and only keeping the MBP, iMac and Mini for computing.... iOS being the central of Apple's revenue and future state. Of course, IMHO. I hope I am wrong. My first mac desktop was the Power Macintosh 8500 tower....
     
  4. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #5
    I thought macvid said he was working on gpu for 6,1...
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    More precise, the eGPU.
     
  6. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    Egpu.. Yes that. So what happened to it?
     
  7. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #8
    Apparently it's up and running. I would contact him for any caveats before purchasing.
     
  8. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #9
    It's out already? Haven't checked his website lately.. So I didn't know. I don't see the one with 6,1
     
  9. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #10
  10. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
  11. DesertSurfer macrumors 6502a

    DesertSurfer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Between the Sonoran Desert and the Pacific Ocean
    #12
    Ooh! That means the new Mac Mini is almost certainly coming.
     
  12. AidenShaw, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #13
    But it will be a screenless Ipad Pro with a single USB-C port ;), in a case the size of a 2.5" USB disk drive.

    And Phil will say "Can't innovate, my behind. Look how small it is.".
     
  13. DesertSurfer macrumors 6502a

    DesertSurfer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Between the Sonoran Desert and the Pacific Ocean
    #14
    And don't forget the rose gold.
     
  14. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #15
    Haven't pulled the trigger yet. I'm waiting to verify that these thunderbolt expansion chassis work as advertised.

    http://www.onestopsystems.com/metal-cubes

    Looking at the CUBE3 specifically, to load up with 4 GTX970s or better.
     
  15. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #16
    A pair of GTX980Ti might be better unless your VRAM/core ratio is too high for the Tis.

    Also, be careful to look at the height of the cards. "Full height" means that the card is as tall as the angle for the screw hole on the PCIe bulkhead connector.

    Many high end graphics cards are much higher than this, and won't fit in standard sized cases. e.g.

    ImgW.jpg
     
  16. Umbrarian, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016

    Umbrarian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    huh? Lots of updates. Not sure what you are asking?
     
  17. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    But what would they use at Cupertino when they need desktop horsepower? I don't think the iMac or Mini would cut it. And I don't see them sullying the new spaceship campus by using HP or Dell desktops everywhere.

    Honestly I think half the reason they work on Mac Pros is for internal use.
     
  18. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #19
    They mostly use what is best for the job. If they need an HP or a Dell they'll buy them and use them.
    There isn't any relation between what tool they use to design their products and those products that they sell.
     
  19. jscooper22 macrumors regular

    jscooper22

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #20
    I wonder if it dawns on them with all their sales people and "business teams" in their stores talking a good game about enterprise and SMB users, that maybe they should start looking at what they would need their systems to do-and-be for them to use them in-house. Since they claim to generally ignore the cries of the masses, it might help them to understand what the problems are (in addition to two year upgrade cycles and a lack of product roadmaps).

    My last two Xserves (one our file server the other filemaker pro) are not long for this world. I really don't want to have to move my data center to windows/v-sphere/hyper-whatever. But I'm not moving 6+ TB of data out to iCloud and am not running a backup system where i can't run it on a schedule that works for us and prune how I need to, not how Apple thinks I should).
     

Share This Page