wait till october to buy macbook pro or buy now

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pixy2, Jun 17, 2010.

1. pixy2 macrumors newbie

I'm a computer science student who needs a new computer
    I originally wanted to buy the 15 inch core i5 right now, but i was worried about portablility
    then i heard that apple is updating them again in october
    I'm hoping they update the 13 inch with core i3
    should i buy now or in october

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

If you need it now, buy it. Its unlikely that Apple will use i3 as they would have done that already plus, it's not much faster (lower clock and no Turbo). October is a long wait and now you can get a free iTouch

3. brianfast macrumors regular

4. rufus247 macrumors member

Get it now. They just recently updated, meaning you will get good value, and you will get an iPod touch. At the very least you can sell the touch. You will probably be a little peeved when the update comes out, but that cannot be avoided. Your machine will always be obsolete soon after you buy it. Gotta love LIFO.

5. elpmas macrumors 68000

elpmas

get it now and get the free ipod touch. you can always sell your mbp and upgrade to the new one.

6. runebinder macrumors 6502a

runebinder

Agree with the above posters get it now, I remember hearing in January that they were going to be updated that month, same again in February and March. End of the day few people have got a clue when it will actually happen, and you don't want to be waiting to then get to October and see that go by, then the next month and the next, and you tell yourself you waited so long now it'll be wrong to give up.

Trust me, been there and bought the T-Shirt lol.

I have a 15" and I find it very portable, take it to and from Work (1 hour and 40 mins a day travel there and back), using the bus and walking and don't struggle with it at all.Go with the i5 you won't regret it.

7. jolawson macrumors member