Wake up issue after 10.5.8 update

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SolidGun, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. SolidGun macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #1
    My unit:
    Early 2009 Mac Pro
    Nvidia 120 standard video card (I destroyed my 4890 and have another one on order)
    4 hard drives
    Hooked up to UPS


    Prior to the update, my unit would wake up at a click of my mouse (as any mac would wake up). But now, I can't get it to wake up from sleep and have to turn it off and restart.

    I have read the past issues, but I only began to have this issue after the update so wanted to know if anyone else is having the same issue.
     
  2. fabitolindo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #2
    Same Problem

    Hi,

    I am having the exactly same problem after de upgrade.

    My computer used to wake up really quickly, now it takes almost a minute...
     
  3. SolidGun thread starter macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #3
    I was not able to locate any solutions to this problem.

    However, I am on 10.6 now so hopefully, this problem is behind me now.
     
  4. Mhaddy macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Experiencing the same inability to wake from sleep problem as the OP. My Mac Pro presumably wakes up as I can hear the HDD and see that the power button is a constant on rather than a pulsing glow, but both displays are black. It's not the "your video cable is loose" black either. But regardless of what key I hit or button I press, there is no way to wake her up except for a hard restart.

    Anyone else have/had this problem & found a fix that doesn't involve upgrading to SL? I have SL but don't have the time to install & customize right now; I'd like to stick with the latest Leopard.
     
  5. Mhaddy macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    For those also experiencing this issue -- I think I've narrowed it down to a fried video card. Spoke to an Apple Product Specialist on the phone and he came to the same conclusion as me and I now have a replacement card enroute (thank goodness for Apple Care!). When it arrives, I'll post back with the results.

    Edit - Put the new card in last night and I've got my display back. For anyone experiencing the same issue as described in this thread - get on the phone with Apple and get a replacement card! Problem solved.
     
  6. Harpo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    #6
    Mhaddy, what year Mac Pro do you have and what video card? Also, what do you mean it is not "your video cable is loose" black? The display is lighting but displaying all black?

    SolidGun, can you tell if the computer is alive after wake, and the display is just not lighting? Did the replacement video card arrive and solve the problem?
     
  7. Mhaddy macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I've got an early 2008 MP, 2x2.8 Quad Cores with an ATI Radeon HD 2600.

    Most monitors nowadays will have a 'no pc input' message but with my LG, if the cable is not fully inserted, it will just not show an image but you can tell it's on because it's not fully black (off)... if that makes sense.
     

Share This Page