Wallpaper from OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mzs.112000, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. mzs.112000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #1
    OS X El Capitan was recently announced, and it has a new wallpaper, so I am putting the wallpaper here for us to use on our PowerPC Macs. This is a 5K image so it should only be used PPC's with lots of RAM.

    Here is the download link(The image is too large to attach to the post.): http://d-h.st/dOvv
    Click on the BLUE button, the yellow one is an ad.
     
  2. redheeler, Jun 29, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Looks nice on my iMac, but I think I'd better post a shrunk-down version for those with older PPCs. Here's 2560x1600.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #3
    Yeah, I would have shrunk it down myself but my Powerbook has been broken and will need replaced(a large book was knocked off a shelf), and my Hackintosh is out of service due to a botched upgrade and needs re-installed, that leaves the Chromebook which has no real photo software.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  5. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #5
    Ok, thanks I just tried the Pixlr editor, will be keeping it installed, it does almost all my photo editing needs.
    BTW, my Hackintosh is back in service, I had to reinstall OS X after a failed upgrade(I think it was a bad kext)
     
  6. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #6
    I hate how many file hosts put your file inside a "downloader", so when you download it, you get a disk image with an application, and the application is like a "wizard" that wants to install some garbage on your machine before it finally gives you the file. And they're enabled by default so if you're not paying attention and you're just clicking next repeatedly, you'll end up with some garbage installed that is difficult to remove. To skip all this crap and download the actual file itself you have to look for a small option or button on the download page.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    That is the downfall to having a Hackintosh...

    Don't forget Pixlr Express for quick edits as well.
     
  8. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    What happened to it???
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Got anything to make a 2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon into a Quad PowerMac G5?

    I'd go for that! :D
     
  10. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #10
    The Yosemite desktop is one of Apple's best - really well balanced tonally. El Capitan by comparison looks like a childish Photoshop edit.
     
  11. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #11
    A book fell on it, and destroyed the screen and damaged the keyboard, so because of that, I threw it away because I don't know where to get parts that don't cost a lot of money, so I will buy a new one.
    BTW the book's that fell on it was "Flora: The Gardeners Bible" and Atlas of the Universe, those books are both heavy. But this did give me a good reason to re-arrange my bookshelf.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    @mzs.112000 What PowerBook model was it? Take this as a ripe opportunity to upgrade!
     
  13. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #13
    It was the 1.67ghz aluminum version.
    Maybe I will find a 1.67ghz HR/DLSR(unless i am mistaken this can read dual-layer DVD?)
    And at 1680x1050 it is higher res than my hackintosh(1280x720)
     
  14. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #14
    I sure most Macs can read Dual Layer, it's writing which is more of a rarity. The 1.67Ghz DLSR also has faster memory and more VRAM :)
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Yeah, all DVD-ROM drives can read dual layer discs.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    @mzs.112000 I would get the dual layer SuperDrive model with maxed out RAM
    and an SSD.
     
  17. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    Like mine!:D
     
  18. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #18
    Should I get an IDE SSD(kingspec) or a IDE to SATA adaptor?
    I think an IDE SSD would be more reliable and faster because of less adaptor overhead?
    Oh and with maxed RAM could I put tenfourfox cache in RAM and make it faster?
     
  19. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    What I did was buy a full converter case, mSATA to 2.5 inch IDE. The case was listed as high speed and uses the Marvell 88SA8052, which is a high-speed chip, unlike those in the little adapters which causes overhead. This is the case I used http://www.amazon.com/Aleratec-mSAT...?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1435789486&sr=1-15 (not my auction) and then I threw in a SanDisk 128 GB mSATA SSD. Works great and is really reliable so far. Those KingSpec SSD's use the same thing, mSATA SSD in an IDE enclosure, but you end up paying more for the KingSpec than for the mSATA SSD+Enclosure.
     
  20. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    And the more RAM, the better TFF runs. My PBG4 is maxed out, with the RAM and SSD, and TFF really likes the extra 1 GB and the SSD
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21
    I have the KingSpec SSD and while it offers much better performance than a regular hard drive, a adaptor with a quality mSATA SSD will knock it out of the water.
     
  22. mzs.112000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #22
    Ok so I get an adaptor and msata!
     
  23. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #23
    A few members here use mSATA SSDs and I am sure they would be more than happy to give you a recommendation on a model.
     

Share This Page