Walmart Family Mobile iPhone 5 - is this unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dmk1974, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. dmk1974, Apr 7, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2014

    dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Walmart-F...GB-Prepaid-with-Retina-Display-Black/26011015

    $399 for a new iPhone 5 is still better than the price for a $549 iPhone 5c (with basically the same specs). My question is, can I pop in a T-Mobile or AT&T SIM card and will it work? My understanding is that the Walmart Family Mobile service is based on T-Mobile's network. Or is it actually locked only to Walmart Family Mobile? Thanks!
     
  2. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
  3. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #3
    Walmart Family Mobile iPhone 5 - is this unlocked?

    Yes it will run on both AT&T and T-Mobile. Here is the link to Apple site where they list what networks it will work for.
    https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    It's listed on the walmart link you gave as the iPhone 5 model A1428 which means it is the unlocked version.
     
  4. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Just because you see it listed on Apple's site doesn't not define the lock status.

    OP -- the Lock status is Unknown and Knowing Walmart...It is either selling the T-Mobile Locked iPhone 5/5S/5C for its "Walmart Family Mobile" or locked to their own company.
     
  5. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #5
    Walmart Family Mobile iPhone 5 - is this unlocked?


    The model number has everything to do with the unlocked status. After Apple starting making the t-mobile version of the iPhone 5 it was made an unlocked phone to work on AT&T and t-mobile. The only version of the iPhone 5 that was locked to a network was the AT&T model. Here is a link http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/iphone/iphone-faq/differences-between-iphone-5-models.html. The A1428 is the unlocked GSM version.
     
  6. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #6

    You honestly have no knowledge and clearly aren't listening either....please don't misguide people....

    Model Number means nothing.

    AT&T/T-Mobile/GSM Factory Unlocked model sold by Apple/Rogers & Fido Canada/Bell & Virgin Mobile Canada/Telus & Koodo Canada are ALL A1428 Model

    All apple did was add AWS 1700 Support in the A1428 model when T-Mobile started to carry it officially in April 2013.

    Even majority of the A1428 sold by AT&T and the Canadian carriers came with AWS 1700 support but came locked.

    MODEL = DOES NOT DETERMINE LOCKS STATUS, What determines lock status is Where it was purchased and under what conditions!

    Lots of people like you are under the assumption just because they purchased a AT&T iPhone on contract/upgrade at the Apple Store, it is Unlocked --- WRONG, the device is Locked to its respective carrier.

    The only iPhone 5/5c/5S that come factory unlocked or are Unlocked immediately are the ones sold by Apple at Full Price, The carrier at FULL PRICE [Given you meet their terms & conditions), Verizon iPhone 5/5C/5S due to FCC Ruling.


    Anyway I don't need to back my information with external links, just read some of the main threads for iPhone here on Macrumors.
     
  7. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #7

    Well your smarta** comments are not needed. I am also not sure what you are referring to when you say "people like you". What are "people like you"? I know how to buy an unlocked iPhone.

    My question for you is if model numbers mean nothing. Then why does the CDMA Verizon model number differ from the GSM AT&T model? If model determines nothing. Then why don't all the iPhones have the same model number? You said it has everything to do with where you buy it, and how they sell it to you. Makes no sense that Apple would put model numbers on it.
     
  8. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #8
    Not to get in the middle of an argument, but it's because the AT&T/GSM model doesn't have the CDMA technology included. That's why there are two models (three of you include a separate CDMA for China or four for the one with tmobile bands). http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3939

    Example: My boyfriend and I both have iPhone 5's but I have the VZW model, and his is T-Mobile. He could put his SIM in my phone, and it would work, but my SIM probably wouldn't work in his phone. My phone is unlocked for his SIM to work with limitations, but his can't support the CDMA tech that I need to make and receive calls.

    It might be different with the 5s and 5c, but the iPhone 5 is not set up to work on every carrier around the world if unlocked. Although the GSM and CDMA unlocked might with limitations... The GSM only will not.
     
  9. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #9

    Well I think I might have gotten confused a bit. When I owned the iPhone 5 from AT&T. The model number was not A1428. I can't remember what it was for sure, but the A1428 did not come out until Apple introduced it on T-mobile. I got confused and thought it was unlocked for GSM. Apparently not.

    Now the thing about the model numbers. I was only bringing up the model number not being different because Samunlocks.net kept saying model number meant nothing. I was just trying to prove a point that model number actually means something. I understand why the Verizon one is different from the GSM one. I should have been more clear about that. And thank you for explaining.

    To the OP. I would go to walmart and ask if the phone is unlocked or not. It appears you can't buy it online anyways. I am not sure how the whole Walmart thing works. It says it on T-mobile'a network, but who knows if they have it locked or not. Best just to ask. Sorry to confused you.
     
  10. 869639, Apr 11, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014

    869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    You need to understanding that many carriers/networks can carry the exact same model, some will be locked and some will be unlocked depending on the carrier policy. Majority are sold LOCKED to that specific carrier that you buy your phone from be it Apple, Samsung, HTC, LG etc.

    The only reason Verizon iPhone 5/5C/5S are Factory Unlocked is because they are forced to by FCC ruling when they purchased the 700MHz LTE Spectrum.

    Verizon and Sprint iPhone 5 model = A1429 because its CDMA + GSM [supports limited # of LTE bands much like the A1428 but the A1429 supports CDMA] now the Sprint iPhone 5 A1429 IS LOCKED meaning you cannot put any SIM into it and use it, it will not accept no matter what you do! and even if you are a excellent customer of sprint and they unlock it....guess what it will be only unlocked for "International Use" and will reject all Domestic SIM's [AT&T/T-Mobile etc].


    So please understanding "unlocking" and what it means before you start calling me smarta**. thanks...

    ----------

    Not to mention:
    Verizon iPhone 5C/5S and AT&T/T-Mobile and the GSM factory unlocked model sold by Apple and by Rogers/Fido/Telus/Bell Canada all share the same Model #......

    Difference? Well:
    - Verizon 5C/5S = CDMA + GSM and is Factory Unlocked
    - AT&T/T-Mobile/Rogers/Fido/Telus/Bell = GSM and LOCKED -- also does not support CDMA AT ALL as its disabled permanently]
    - Apple Store GSM Factory Unlocked = Only works on GSM networks --- does not support CDMA AT all as its disabled permanently].

    Those hardware model #'s such as Axxxx are only for Apple to sort its inventory and do not define any state besides give you information about the bands supported by that particular mode.

    PS I don't mean to argue in anyway, but I'm proving my point that the information you are suggesting regarding unlock/lock state = False.
     
  11. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #11

    What you need to understand is that I understand what locked and unlocked means. You can have a GSM phone that is unlocked, but does not work on CDMA networks. Happens all the time. Verizon like you said had to unlocked their phones due to the FCC, but just because they work on CDMA, and GSM does not make them any more unlocked than the GSM phones.

    What you failed to do what read my last post in which I stated I got a bit confused about the A1428.

    And yes you were being a smarta** which again was not needed. You could have simply explained your case, and moved along. It does not surprise me much though from a poster on this site. It seems a dime a dozen are smarta*** on this site.
     
  12. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
    and I apologize for being a smart**, sometimes we all get carried away :)
     
  13. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #13

    Alright me as well. I got confused, and did not explain myself. Sorry to you and the OP for the confusion.
     
  14. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #14
    Apple makes it a bit confusing with two different types of "model numbers".

    The A1428 is a pretty generic model number. More for the form and the type.

    The number I am looking for is like ME486LL/A or something like that format. Each of these type of model numbers take into account the color (black/white), storage (16/32/64 GB), and carrier.
     
  15. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    Actually don't even look at that number either....

    checkout this thread, the thing is even those model #'s starting MExxxxx/x are carried by many carriers/networks:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=17059841
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1572942

    100% accurate Best and free way to know if a phone is unlocked:
    - Insert a different carrier SIM and see what it says, if it says "Invalid SIM" = LOCKED


    100% accurate and Paid method:

    Another way is to order a IMEI report from many sites and eBay for as little as $1 and that will confirm IMEI status.

    Time consuming method:
    Call Apple, give them the IMEI and ask them to confirm the network that the phone is locked to -- most times they will tell you, however sometime they don't.


    Relying on model numbers of any kind will jus lead you to a dead end with no definite answer, all those model numbers are for apple for inventory control etc...not for people to distinguish locked from unlocked.

    I mean at best you can determine the type of carrier....GSM or CDMA+GSM etc.
     
  16. Soapbox Charlie macrumors newbie

    Soapbox Charlie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #16
    --- Post Merged, Jun 5, 2017 ---
    The Walmart Family Mobile is locked however the FCC has ruled that if you own the phone outright and are not on a payment plan if you asked they must unlock the phone and if they cannot they must supply a similar unlocked phone at no cost. I have been battelling then for almost a month they deny that the phone is a walmart locked phone. Your best bet maybe to go to Amazon and find the same phone that is unlocked and do pay as you go meaning prepaid. T-mobile will try to convince you that all the have is a $75 a month for unlimited talk text internet. Use the word prepay meaning you will pay monthly via debit or Credit crad
    That's not true T-mobile does not support Familymobile their phones are locked to Family Mobile only after a period you can request and they must honor your request to unlock. Until the persiod I think they say 6 months you can unlock. Don't try it they lock it because they are the worst service in the world
     

Share This Page